We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elder Grove
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
326
37
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
326
37
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul vickyb bmarmaladetray bakestomato saucegreat water pressurelocally sourced producecar parklake districttop floorsingle roomgreat hostspacked lunchwelcome packparking on sitehonesty barlittle touches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had two nights stay at Elder Grove following a week in a self catering cottage to extend our break and catch-up there with old friends. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. The room was very comfortable and well appointed, with a lovely comfy bed. The bathroom was great with the most powerful shower I've ever experienced and no shortage of hot water, just what you need after a day of the fells. Mains drinking water from the bathroom tap is a bonus. There's a lovely little bar where you can sit and plan the next days walking. Dedicated car parking is very useful but with easy walking distance into Ambleside you can park up and relax. And the breakfasts are legendary with as much tea and coffee as you drink and a great choice of traditional, veggie or super healthy fruit and cereal. Paul & Vicky are a fabulous hosts and do whatever they can to make it a comfortable stay. We chose Elder Grove because my partner has stayed there before and wanted to share the experience with me. I'm so pleased he did and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had room 3 - a king size (or twin) ensuite room with fell views to the rear of the property. Our friends had a dog friendly double room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just had two lovely nights here- can't fault a thing. Exceptionally clean and well appointed room. Lovely extras e.g. organic toiletries. Fantastic breakfast with huge choice, especially for vegetarians. Paul and Vicky are wonderful hosts- genuinely friendly and helpful. I've stayed here four times in 12 years and it really is a super place and close to the centre but still quiet for sleeping. Ambleside is a lovely village with plenty to do and choice of eating places. Not your average choice either but good range from Thai to Indian to Pub Grub to Vegetarian.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freshgirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We've just returned from an Easter break at Elder Grove. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean and well presented. The breakfast were superb with a great choice to cater for everyone. The staff were really freindly and knowledgable about the local area. Would recommend this place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Returned to Elder Grove recently for a short break after a previously good stay. The house is delightful and our room (10) well decorated and had everything we could need. On-site car parking meant we that we did not need to move the car until we left, as we walked from the house every day. There is a great choice of places to eat in Ambleside, all within a few minuites walk.
Vicky and Paul are warm and welcoming and excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Information folders provided in the rooms are detailed and comprehensive. There are ideas for all types of holiday, all age-groups and all weathers! In the bar there is a wealth of information for walkers.
Breakfast was superb with an extensive choice and lots of local produce and home-made food. We had a packed lunch on one day, again with a choice of options,which was enjoyed when we walked and was good value for money. There are drying facilities which we were glad of on one wet day.
There are so many well thought-out finishing touches in this B&B and the owners have clearly paid attention to small details to ensure that their guests have an enjoyable stay.
We will definitely return again and are already recommending Elder Grove to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dejoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed at Elder Grove for 3 nights. We were drawn there for the on-site parking availability (very handy and not available at a lot of other places) and the location (10 mins walk from the lake/boats and lots of restaurants/pubs on the doorstep). We were not disappointed.

We stayed in room number 8, which was a bit of a climb up some stairs, but the owner was wiling to help with bags, and the climb is worth it for the view of the hills. The room itself was beautifully decorated, with a large, comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. My 6'4" boyfriend would probably have preferred a taller shower, but it was not a problem. Tea and coffee making facilities were available, with extras on request.

The breakfasts were delicious, and there was a good choice for all tastes. The owners are also more than happy to oblige with requests to substitute/add items. The dining room was very pretty, and we had the same table every morning. We also took advantage of the packed lunches (chosen from a well thought-out range) on two of the days, which were good value and much appreciated on our days out!

Finally, the welcome was warm from the owners, and the information folder in the room was packed with ideas for whatever type of holiday you would like to have. We found the 'Explore Ambleside' walk particularly helpful and enjoyable.

Thank you Elder Grove, we will certainly recommend you to our friends and family!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews