We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class again”
Review of Elder Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elder Grove
Ranked #27 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield UK
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class again”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Another visit to Elder Grove and another first class stay at this unbeatable B+B Clean comfortable rooms, comfy beds and best breakfast in the Lakes.

Paul and vicky always go above and beyond, thinking about it I should not leave great reviews as more people will book making it difficult for us to book? LOL
Look forward to our next visit.
Graham and Pam

Room Tip: Any room good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skicrazydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    36
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
230
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Elder Grove is great. It's really central (you're on the main road and 1 min from the shops) but it was quiet too. Really good breakfast - lots of good, locally sourced food, and the owners were lovely too. Would thoroughly recommned. We'll certainly be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

David & I stayed @ Elder Grove for the first time 14th March for 3 nights what a fantastic place we have stayed in Ambleside a few times but this is now a place we will return to.We stayed in room 5 four poster room it was a delight( even waking up to snow on our last morning) Breakfast were some of the best we have had with a great choice on the menu.Paul & Vicky are great hosts even Vicky with a head cold!!!! The decor through out very modern but very tasteful.The bar is a great asset...... Not a lot more to say except what a great place and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here with my husband for two nights, 11th and 12th March 2013, in Room 4 which has a four poster bed and is situated at the front of the property, overlooking the road. Although the room overlooked the road, I can honestly say that there was no noticable noise and we slept well. The room was clean and the welcome brochure was full of useful information and recommendations which enhanced our stay. Paul and Vicky could not do enough to help, offering advice on walks to take, there's also loads of maps kept in the bar area, which are available to borrow. Paul is the chef and what a chef, the cumbrian breakfast was awesome, with numeous offers to top up on tea, coffee and toast, it really did set us up for the day. This was or first visit to the Lakes and we will definately be going back and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieAps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have stayed at Elder Grove on numerous occasions. It just keeps getting better. Rooms are warm and cosy, the beds comfortable and the breakfast is excellent, with all needs catered for. Paul and Vicky are great hosts and nothing is to much trouble. The recent refurbishment is great, particularly in the dining room. The accommodation is well placed in Ambleside for walking, shopping and pubs and eateries. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a home from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed here in the snow in January, for a 3 day walking and sketching break.
Couldn't have been made more welcome by Paul & Vicky. The single room was compact but comfy and fully equipped, even an extra electric heater.
The massive breakfasts were delicious and I left the car in their car park as the Ambleside bus stop is just around the corner, so I let the bus drivers negotiate the icy roads to remote walking country. Plenty of walks leaflets available in the dining room if you don't have your own.
Single rooms can be expensive in the Lakes but Elder Grove was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Elder Grove is among the most comfortable guest houses I have stayed in. The 4 poster room overlooked the road but the traffic noise was not an issue and in fact the wicker chairs at the large bay window were a nice place to unwind. I found the room to be comfortable, modern, warm and relaxing, the bathroom basic but ample. Breakfast was of a good standard, tea and coffee refills adding to the welcoming feeling. The range of homemade jams was a nice touch. The location is super, a five minute walk takes you to the centre of Ambleside, 15 minutes the other way and you're at Lake Windermere. The price reflects the quality and I would happily pay the same again if I return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#13 of 103 in Ambleside
670 reviews
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder Grove

Property: Elder Grove
Address: Elder Grove Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elder Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Elder Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder Grove Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing