We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
346
40
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
346
40
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams tray bakes great water pressure car park honesty bar single room great hosts b bs parking on site excellent place to stay little touches rooms are lovely good nights sleep cooked breakfast four poster bed stayed here for two nights high standard
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Had a lovely 2 night stay at the Elder Grove in Ambleside, in March. It couldn't have been better. After I mixed up our stay dates, Paul went out of his way to ensure we got another room with no issues at all. We had a standard double, which was perfect for our short break- a bath and shower too, which is a must for me with all the walking!
Vicky was really helpful in providing recommendations for local restaurants and pubs too, and lent us an OS map, as we had lost ours. Couldn't have asked for a more helpful couple.
Overall...
Great location, great hosts, amazing breakfast, lovely rooms. All round 10/10. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelcriticWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Another visit to Elder Grove and another first class stay at this unbeatable B+B Clean comfortable rooms, comfy beds and best breakfast in the Lakes.

Paul and vicky always go above and beyond, thinking about it I should not leave great reviews as more people will book making it difficult for us to book? LOL
Look forward to our next visit.
Graham and Pam

Room Tip: Any room good
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skicrazydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Elder Grove is great. It's really central (you're on the main road and 1 min from the shops) but it was quiet too. Really good breakfast - lots of good, locally sourced food, and the owners were lovely too. Would thoroughly recommned. We'll certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

David & I stayed @ Elder Grove for the first time 14th March for 3 nights what a fantastic place we have stayed in Ambleside a few times but this is now a place we will return to.We stayed in room 5 four poster room it was a delight( even waking up to snow on our last morning) Breakfast were some of the best we have had with a great choice on the menu.Paul & Vicky are great hosts even Vicky with a head cold!!!! The decor through out very modern but very tasteful.The bar is a great asset...... Not a lot more to say except what a great place and location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here with my husband for two nights, 11th and 12th March 2013, in Room 4 which has a four poster bed and is situated at the front of the property, overlooking the road. Although the room overlooked the road, I can honestly say that there was no noticable noise and we slept well. The room was clean and the welcome brochure was full of useful information and recommendations which enhanced our stay. Paul and Vicky could not do enough to help, offering advice on walks to take, there's also loads of maps kept in the bar area, which are available to borrow. Paul is the chef and what a chef, the cumbrian breakfast was awesome, with numeous offers to top up on tea, coffee and toast, it really did set us up for the day. This was or first visit to the Lakes and we will definately be going back and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieAps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews