We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best B&Bs in the Lakes”
Review of Elder Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elder Grove
Ranked #24 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Up North
Level Contributor
220 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of the best B&Bs in the Lakes”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We booked here on a whim, we just fancied a Friday night in the Lakes. We got the last room available which was the four poster and it is a gorgeous room, very spacious with absolutely everything you need. The whole hotel is lovely. It's warm and welcoming, has parking, has free wi-fi (that actually works), amazing breakfasts, really nice hosts, fabulous location.....I could go on and on. My husband says he will not stay anywhere else in Ambleside now, nothing can top this place. I do agree, it was such a lovely place, however for me there was one teeny weeny issue which was the lack of plugs near mirrors. I know, I am being fussy, but I just wanted to point it out. Other than that it's a really cracking little place.....you have to try it!!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house but we didn't suffer with road noise hardly at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    36
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
230
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I went to the Elder Grove a few days ago with my family. The room was clean and tidy. The owners were lovely, friendly and accommodating. Excellent location as well to get around Ambleside. Would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ells28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have been visiting here twice a year for about 15 years. Paul and Vicky are the perfect hosts. The rooms are well decorated, cosy and comfortable and the breakfasts are the best we have ever had. If you do decide to visit you must try the homemade breads,jams,marmalade and sauces, they are excellent. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiana1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincs, uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Well everything previous reviewers have said is correct so I won't go over those, trying to think of something else to tell you. What we enjoyed most was coming back after a long day to sit down in front of the cosy fire in the front room and Vicky would bring us a tray of tea (the chocolate and coconut shortbread went down well with it) We also liked that we could leave the car as its just a few minutes amble into town and as you walk along there are lots of other guest houses that you can see into but Elder Grove certainly looks the nicest.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for three nights in a four poster room. Room was very spacious, well maintained and cleaned. All toiletries and drinks, mugs etc are locally produced, it's nice to see an emphasis on maintaining and supporting the local community.

Location is excellent for Ambleside town or a walk down to the lake. We left the car in the car park and ventured around on local buses, very good service.

Breakfast was a fantastic choice of hot and cold items and homemade produce.

Will definitely be staying here again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a girlie chill out for three nights. Fabulous hosts who truly have thought of every little detail . . Even tooth picks with your breakfast which is a feast in itself we didn't eat until evening. The menu for same is vast even gluten free products if requested. Home made jams and marmalades are to die for loads of cereals fruit croissants and fresh coffee by the bucketful which is also served free of church throughout the day which in my book wins the day. We came back after a long walk to Grasmere soaking wet and filled out in front of the fire. Rooms clean with organic toiletries and even fresh milk for drinks in room. Very close to dozens of excellent restaurants. Will definitely be back .

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julieholowko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Thanks to Paul and his lovely wife for making our first trip to Ambleside so great. They were very welcoming and they have a wealth of knowledge for our daily trips in the area. Breakfasts were a treat with Pauls great marmalades.
Great Location with onsite parking a bonus, close to all that this lovely town provides.
Many thanks for a lovely stay..

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Rooms, Great Beds and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#3 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.3 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#20 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder Grove

Property: Elder Grove
Address: Elder Grove Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elder Grove 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elder Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder Grove Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing