We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kent House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kent House
Ranked #72 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a Family and dog friendly B&B in the heart of Ambleside. We received a warm welcome, friendly service from Simon and Sandra, the owners. Rooms comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Vegetarian alternatives available. All freshly cooked and delicious. I would love to take my grandchildren here as children are made to feel so welcome. Heartwarming to see. And dogs are loved too! Parking a bit difficult up steep drive, but we left ours on the road outside, free parking for the night.

Room Tip: Some rooms obviously smaller than others. Ours very comfortable for 1 night but may feel bit cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    51
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
153
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just had the one night in dog friendly Kent house. This guest house is one of the cleanest we have stayed and right up there with the best fry ups. the owners are also very pleasant people, we stayed in room 6 which was nice and spacious and very clean although the shower cubical could do with a little tlc. We feel though that we need to make people aware of the location of this guest house has it is opposite the noisiest pub in ambleside and we were kept awake until way past midnight. They have lovely grand daughter who stays with them Olivier but they really do need to keep her out of the breakfast room as not everyone wants a rather loud child at their table at 8 o'clock in the morning

Room Tip: Try get room at the back away from public house opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We've just returned from two nights here and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived late but received a warm welcome. Our room was very comfortable and certainly to our tastes: very cosy, good decor and very well maintained. And we had two very good nights sleep! Breakfast the following day was delicious and the owners were very keen to discuss the various walks we could take that day. They took a real interest in us and, of course, our labrador (especially their charming daughter)! In fact, they were very accommodating with our dog, providing a hose to wash her down after a muddy encounter for example. We appreciate dogs aren't welcome everywhere but they clearly are here.

Overall, Kent House represents very good value for money and the genuine enthusiasm for ensuring we made the most of our stay was refreshing. This, with other nice touches (like a tub of boot cleaning / polishing kit in the room) mean that we'd certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captains_Chutneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Mark and I have just returned from a 4 day break at Kent House. Simon and Sandra are the perfect hosts. Amazing breakfasts just what you need before venturing out for the day. Simon is a mine of local info, all of his suggestions of places to visit were well worth it,
We were quite late arriving and Simon waited up for us, he helped carry out bags up to the room.
We will return again for sure. We loved it!

A big thanks to you both and a hello to Olivia...

Room Tip: Room 5 lovely romantic victorian style , comfy and relaxing after days out on the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay here at Kent House.
The family run Guest House is in the centre of town close to all the shops & restaurants.
Stayed in the beautifully decorated & very comfortable family room (4)
Simon is on hand with lots of helpful information regarding the area.
Breakfast was beautiful & plentiful with lots of Choice.
Would return to Kent House on our next visit to Ambleside the added bonus for us was that we could take our dog.

Nicola, Darren,Elliemae & Frankie x

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunRising14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at the guest house mid February for two nights.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming, giving us tips on what to do in the area.
The room was very clean and well decorated. The bed was amazing...very comfortable!
The breakfasts were delicious with a variety of choice, even the service by Simon during this time, we was never rushed out, got anything we asked for and had many chats with Simon after breakfast which was enjoyable.
However, the car park was a squeeze! But I wouldn't be put off by this
We would definitely recommend this guest house

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here with our son the night before his wedding at Troutbeck. Simon and his wife are a most delightful couple. and in Ambleside, there are numerous places to have wonderful meals. We felt very much at home, and, rest assured, the condemned man ate a very hearty and delicious breakfast!

Room Tip: Parking a bit tricky, but Simon a great help. Bing right in the centre of Ambleside more than makes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
#85 of 105 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wordsworths Guest House
Wordsworths Guest House
#51 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#47 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elder Grove
Elder Grove
#23 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#62 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House

Property: Kent House
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Hotel Class:4 star — Kent House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing