We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wordsworths Guest House
Ranked #45 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a small but intimate family run guest house of the highest calibre. It was spotlessly clean, beautiful and contemporary in its decor, close to Ambleside with parking. It was competitively priced too. The room was lovely; we had a top floor room with a separate sitting room. The breakfast was very nice and the owner, Anna, very friendly and down to earth. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend this to friends without question. We also took advantage of the pass for The Langdales country spa - great after a long walk!

Room Tip: Room 6 on the top floor, even though on the front still quiet and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Emma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
46
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just back from a two night stay in this b&b. It is set in the beautiful village of Ambleside, and is within a few minutes walk of the bustling village centre. Parking is secure and off road around the back. The room was decorated to the highest standard and , along with the en suite shower/toilet room was immaculately clean. Lovely comfortable bed made for a very restful 2 nights sleep. The view of the glorious lake district hills topped the room experience off. The breakfast choice was immense for such a small b&b but everything I had was perfectly cooked and delicious. Both breakfasts I had were complimented by toast and home made jam and marmalade.
The hosts were very friendly and extremely helpful, which added to the experience.
I will certainly be recommending this b&b to all my friends and family.Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Booked 3 nights stay and enjoyed it very much. Bedrooms and breakfast first rate. Hosts very welcoming. The location is ideal as you can walk to restaurants and all amenities in Ambleside. Would recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank eggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a great base to stay in the heart of the Lake District. Ideally situsted just a short walk from the many walking shops, pubs and restaurants in Ambleside. The hosts are warm and friendly and are always happy to help with information to make your stay as memorable as possible. The breakfast is bountiful and the rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Can't recommend Wordsworth highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willatopbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great location with beautiful views from patio.
Rooms where decorated to a tasteful standard and very clean.
Anna & Paul could not have been more helpful and great fun. Their knowledge of the local area is second to non so able to advice us on walks, pubs and local restaurants.
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Yet another amazing weekend at Paul and Annas B and B (best and beautiful). Had fantastic time with my girlfriends celebrating our " 50th " birthdays this time ! We just love the place and have stayed at this B&B on numerous occasions, it is in the perfect central location for visiting the rest of the lakes, it is immaculate, with upto date decor and nothing is too much trouble for the amazing hosts. Breakfast is to die for, Anna's scrambled egg has got to be the best I have ever tasted. Looking forward to our next visit soon!

Room Tip: Ive pretty much stayed in all rooms at the Wordsworth, all are up to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have nothing to add about the facilities but I would like to share a story about how to delight your customers.
We try where possible to eat Free Range products. The web site said that the eggs were so on arrival we just enquired if the meat was also and Anna informed us it was not.
This was not a problem as we could have Eggs, Smoked Salmon, a full Vegetarian breakfast, Mushrooms or Tomatoes on toast, Porridge and no end of Cereal and Yogurts.
When we returned on the first evening we were met by Anna who had been to the Supermarket and had bought Sausages and Bacon that she was told were ok for us. Unfortunately they were not but we thanked her for being so thoughtful.
The next day we were having lunch in a pub the over side of Coniston when Paul and Anna walked in. They said they were having a drive around.
When we returned that evening we discovered that they had actually been out to a Free Range farm and had bought us two types of Sausages and enough Bacon to see out our stay.
Anna and Paul run a Guest House not a five star hotel but this level of service out stripped what I would expect of a Conciege in the latter. Truly outstanding and oh so thoughtful.
A flick through the guest book shows many examples where they have gone the extra mile and when we revisit the Lakes we would not dream of staying anywhere else

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldrick141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#21 of 103 in Ambleside
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#34 of 103 in Ambleside
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wordsworths Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wordsworths Guest House

Property: Wordsworths Guest House
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wordsworths Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Wordsworths Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworths Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing