We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
41
16
5
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
16
5
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skelwith bridge french windows ramblers rest booked directly second bedroom public footpath great holiday well equipped kitchen peace and quiet short drive lake district recommend staying here within walking distance home from home pleasant stay self catering lovely touch
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We echo the comments of the previous holiday makers ( Pam/ Maidenhead ) The site itself is quiet and well situated, perfect for our fell walking aims however the property is damp, the smell of dampness is impossible to get rid of, we opened windows, put dehumidifiers on, bearing in mind that the weather was glorious we still couldn't eradicate it.We had to wash on return home unworn clothing that had been in drawers because they were damp, the apartment is dark and needs lights to be put on in kitchen at all times of the day. The kitchen was lacking in pans and general cutlery, no peelers, no long glasses to drink from,no cleaning kit, no spatula's, broken pan ie handle off ?.The bathroom has a high side and we could not find any safety mat my wife slipped and fell , she is a fit fell runner so beware anyone else !
We could not open the French Windows they were locked ? the patio had not been swept and all in all it was neglected and lacking in any finesse. Oh I nearly forgot the lights were out in the bedroom.

John/Elaine Nuttall

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank john n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having stayed in the Merlins 2 years ago, we looked forward to returning to Neaum Crag. We stayed in the Ruskin, booking through Cumbrian Cottages. The Ruskin is inferior in all respects to the Merlins, we think it is rated a star lower but still expected that the Ruskin to be satisfactory. Biggest issue is that the chalet is damp. Bedding and furniture felt damp all week even though we tried to ventilate the property by opening all doors and windows when possible. The lounge French doors were locked with no key, which did not help. The chalet had not been cleaned properly, lots of spiders webs in the lounge, dirty sinks and wash basins. Normally we would expect cleaning materials, dishwasher powder etc but these were missing as well. I could go on, suffice to say we will not be returning to the Ruskin again. Neaum Crag btw is a wonderful location, lots of walks nearby, so don't be put off going to Neaum Crag.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank PamMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just had a fantastic holiday at Neaum Crag, staying in a cabin / lodge / chalet or whatever you wish to call it. The location is quiet (although during the day you can sometimes hear a little noise from the road far below - but nothing you really notice). It is superbly situated for easy access to the heart of lakeland.

The cabin itself slept 6 people and was clean, tidy and very comfortable. The owners have provided games, books, dvds etc should you wish to use them. They obviously have thought about their guests and even ask for suggestions to improve the place.The beds were confortable (though we took our own pillows due to us having various allergies etc) warm and very, very relaxing. On the nice days it was great to sit and eat our meals outside enjoying the huge variety of wildlife available. There is an exclusive parking area for each cabin. Loweswaters hold enough space for 2 cars.

On site there is a very small shop selling only a few basic items (check opening times) and a small swimming pool and sauna which make a great way to end the day (although I can imagine it getting very busy during the summer holidays due to its size).

There are some lovely walks from the site so you dont have to take the car out if you dont want to. These include the ' heaven on earth' walk around Loughrigg Tarn. Do this early evening and watch the sun setting behind the Langdale Pikes for sheer bliss. We did this walk every evening we were there such was our love for it.

We booked our holiday through the Neaum Crag site (Carrie was excellent and very welcoming and helpful). I dont know if you can book it anywhere else.

This was a truly superb holiday and a truly superb place to stay which for the price was excellent value. My family and I cannot recommend Loweswater and Neaum Crag highly enough and are already looking into booking for next year (or possibly later this year if we can). This is the very first review I have ever written online such was our joy at having such a great holiday here.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

second visit Neaum Crag..fantastic walks..no car. .Bliss...weather always been good...lovely cabin with everything thought of to make stay home from home. Quiet site with parking right at cabin. Lovely balcony area to have some refreshments after hours of walking.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank scottiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first visit to Neaum Crag Estate and we stayed at Neaum Crag House which is a beautiful old stone manor house overlooking the Langdale Valley. We stayed in the lovely 'Colwith cottage' which has it's own parking space. It's a self-catering accommodation for up to 4 people and a deserved 4* rating. It's spacious, tastefully decorated and the view from the dining area and bedrooms is just breath taking. It's very much 'home from home' and everything is provided down to the smallest detail i.e. salt n pepper, washing liquid, dishcloths, Hairdryer, high chair, etc. All you have to provide are your own bath/handtowels. A lovely personal touch was the bottle of Red wine waiting for us and a welcome card. There are books/games/dvd's for both adults and children and plenty of information on local attractions and walks. There is a swimming pool on site which is shared by the lodges on the estate, but we didn't use it as we were out everyday due to the beautiful weather. Everyday we saw allsorts of wildlife, Rabbits , birds etc. It was fantastic and we were well rested after our week spent there. Just wish we had booked 2weeks instead of the one. If you want peace and quiet, then we highly recommend this amazing cottage, which by the way has internet connection. Perfect! ( More details can be found on their website).

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonKinnielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews