We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic, could not complain about 1 thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchorage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage
Ranked #86 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic, could not complain about 1 thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here last weekend for 1 night after being told by all other places 2 night minimum, the house is absolutely spotless i have never seen anywhere so clean, we had the small double room which was ample and the bed was so comfy, the breakfast was beautiful too, i can honestly not complain about one thing, we didnt really meet Helen but Arthur was a great host. Would definately stay there in the future and recommend to everyone.it is in a great location too very close to centre but not in the middle of so you do not get the noise.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjjii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Have just returned home tonight after a lovely stay at The Anchorage in Ambleside. Before going we were impressed that Helen sent a card to say thank you for sending deposit. On arrival we were very pleasantly greeted by Helen, and shown to our spotlessly clean room. Every room in the Anchorage was spotless and Helen and Arthur should be congratulated on the effort they put in to keep it like this. The breakfast was lovely and the service was perfect. Only 5 mins walk into centre off Ambleside, (yes i mean 5mins) And parking at the hotel. A fabulous stay and not expensive. Highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloughie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We recently wanted a 1 night weekend stay in Ambleside and after much effort (most places only accept 2 night weekend bookings) we came across the Anchorage who had room for us in their "small" double bedroom. We were expecting to have to walk sideways we thought the shower might be a squeeze but we were very pleasantly surprised. The small double room was very comfortable and not too "small" at all - the ensuite facilities were fine - and we had no problems at all with water pressure.
This B&B must be the cleanest place we've ever stayed there literally was not a speck of dust to be seen! The breakfast was lovely too. Thanks you Arthur and Helen.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kentcoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geordie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

As we were passing through Ambleside we decided to stop off at the tourist information for one night accomadation.
They put us in touch with the Anchorage and upon arriving we were pleasantly suprised.
The whole place was immaculate and service was second to none.
We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband and I booked this B&B through tourist information and we were really happy with it. The location is great, just a 5 minute walk from the main high street and suggested walks in the area.

We stayed in the Admiral's room (at the back of the property) which we think was the biggest and it was lovely. Tastefully furnished, very clean, a comfty bed and it had a good size flat screen tv, with en suite.

Arthur made us feel very welcome and was more than happy to suggest where we could go walking during our stay.

Breakfast was good although I could have done with a bigger portion (though I am a little greedy!) and for the price, it was excellent value for money.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah_fishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed in this b&b for two nights and wished we stayed longer ! it was so clean !Helen and Arthur were very friendly and helpful they couldnt do enough to help us. We would give them five star !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peggsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Our room was on the small side which we were told about before hand and this was reflected in the price of our stay, non the less the room was also adequate for our stay as we were hardly there. The room was very warm, very clean and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was also very good and just the right amount too. We enjoyed our stay and the owners were very pleasant and helpful people. The private parking was a bonus. Our only niggle was the size of the en-suite and the water pressure, but this would not deter us from staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
5.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#2 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing