We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bed and Breakfast”
Review of The Anchorage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage
Ranked #96 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Perthshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay at the Anchorage bed and breakfast in Ambleside. I had a lovely stay. Helen and Arthur were welcoming and friendly. The bedroom was cosy, and extremely clean. The room was cleaned every day to a really high standard. The breakfast was very good, well cooked, and tasty. There was a good selection of cereals and fresh grapefruit and mandarins. There was also a good selection of yoghurts, and plenty of coffee and hot toast. The parking is ample - 5 private parking spaces, and very easy to navigate. The location was just a couple of minutes stroll from the Centre of Ambleside. The room was nicely decorated, fresh and modern, with a TV, dressing table and good size wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. It was also en-suite, which was a bonus. I would definately stay here again, as it was extremely clean, great breakfast, well priced, the hosts were friendly, and there was plenty of parking. What more could you want!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and i drove up to Ambleside on new years day and were delighted to be able to get a room here for the night.The rooms were very warm and cosy,the breakfast delicious and the hosts knowledgeable and friendly .

Helpful?
2 Thank brickie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed for two nights at The Anchorage. Helen and Arthur have this B&B running like clockwork. Very cosy and situated within a very easy stroll (2 minutes) of the town centre. Most guests are repeat stayers as were we. You'll not be disappointed if you give it a try. We will return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammark12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

we stayed there for 2 nights , rooms very clean and comforatble with good ample breakfast, parking on site, room facing road a bit noisey during day but quiet after 19:00
, good value for money

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owentzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is our fifth time at the Anchorage and Arthur and Helen never waivers on the hospitality and the cleanliness of their guest house we had an excellent time as always.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My partner and I stayed here last weekend for 1 night after being told by all other places 2 night minimum, the house is absolutely spotless i have never seen anywhere so clean, we had the small double room which was ample and the bed was so comfy, the breakfast was beautiful too, i can honestly not complain about one thing, we didnt really meet Helen but Arthur was a great host. Would definately stay there in the future and recommend to everyone.it is in a great location too very close to centre but not in the middle of so you do not get the noise.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjjii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Have just returned home tonight after a lovely stay at The Anchorage in Ambleside. Before going we were impressed that Helen sent a card to say thank you for sending deposit. On arrival we were very pleasantly greeted by Helen, and shown to our spotlessly clean room. Every room in the Anchorage was spotless and Helen and Arthur should be congratulated on the effort they put in to keep it like this. The breakfast was lovely and the service was perfect. Only 5 mins walk into centre off Ambleside, (yes i mean 5mins) And parking at the hotel. A fabulous stay and not expensive. Highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloughie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
285 reviews
5.1 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing