We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but nothing special”
Review of The Anchorage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage
Ranked #96 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This B & B is well located and has good parking close to town. The proprietor does a good job and the place is clean and the breakfasts are good.
Why I don't rate this establishment more highly is that it is getting a little tired, the floors squeak terribly and the bed we had was one of the most uncomfortable that I have had - whenever I got into bed (I only weight 82kg) the floor under the bed made a shocking noise. The water while warm is conserved so well by the shower head that it takes quite a while to get shampoo washed out of your hair.
All up it is not a bad place and you will not feel bad about staying here, however it was nothing great

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This guest house was a home away from home. The beds are comfy, the heating was perfect and the hospitality was superb!
The hosts Helen and Arthur are friendly and approachable, easy to chat with and very hospitable.
After living in a Muslim country I found the fully cooked English breakfast with real bacon and Cumberland sausages divine.
I recommend this guest house to anyone who wants a guest house a few minutes walking distance into the village, away from the pubs and easily accessible to the lakes and trails.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #3, the ensuite bathroom is tiny. Certainly only room for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you have had the pleasure of Helen and Arthurs wonderful little guest house, please write a review and put them up there with the best where they should be... I just noticed the ratings and copied them -----> Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside

Surely that is not right... A stay at The Anchorage is like coming home, but on holiday if you know what I mean.
We will definitely be returning soon to take advantage of Helen and Arthurs wonderful hospitality in beautiful Ambleside.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spotless and modern but try for a back room as there is no traffic noise there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wangatrang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here last weekend, friendly owners, nice clean room, the breakfast was excellent and above all there is off road parking and it is about a 4 minute walk into the town centre, what more can I say.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We walked into 'The Anchorage' looking for a place to stay during our 13 day holiday in Lake District. We stayed in the Admiral room. Very nice room, spacious, clean. Arthur and Helen, the hosts, were very hospitable and helpful. The breakfast was huge and delicious.The best part of staying at Anchorage is that it is very central and only about half an hour's drive from all the corners of Lake District. It is also on a main road near restaurants, shops and bus-stops. We will definitely choose this place when we return to Lake district.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janban53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have often walked past The Anchorage B&B when having a longer stay in Ambleside..On the spur of the moment we decided on A couple of days away, so I rang up and booked the Captains room. The room was very pleasant, being at the front there is noise from the traffic, but it goes very quiet about 2330rs.The place is run by a very pleasant couple, and they provide you with a good breakfast. The location is just at one end of the village very handy for the pub, The Golden Rule .I would say the place is good value.

Room Tip: If you like to retire early, ask for a room at the back, to avoid the traffic noise. They only accep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eds186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed here over half term for two nights. The room was small but adequate and great value for money for half term. Arthur was lovely and very helpful about where to visit and places to eat. Breakfast was super and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for the bigger rooms I'm sure it would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
566 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 103 in Ambleside
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#15 of 103 in Ambleside
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Property: The Anchorage
Address: Rydal Road, Ambleside LA22 9AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing