We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Priest Hole

The Priest Hole
Ranked #20 of 122 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Priest Hole Restaurant and Tea Rooms are part of Kelsick Old Hall, one of the oldest buildings in the beautiful village of Ambleside in the centre of the English Lake District. With many original features the atmosphere may not be edible, but it does play a huge part in your dining enjoyment, and our friendly young team work hard in a refreshingly casual, but attentive way, to provide a relaxed and enjoyable experience.We are happy to accept single diners and large groups. We have a delightful outside terrace for alfresco meals on those warmer days, or just to sit and have a coffee and watch the world go by. (Dogs welcome on the terrace.) Seperate dining area for special occassion group dining.
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had the taste of Cumbrian food which was gorgeous. Highly recommended. The staff were pleasant and friendly

2  Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGWG, Owner at The Priest Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

So glad that the Royal Oak wasn't doing food when you visited, otherwise you would not have been able to give us such a lovely review. Thank you from all of us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Don't forget though to go next door and enjoy a pint of one of their fab local ales whilst you wait for your booked table to be ready. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 768 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We only went in here because the pub next door was not doing food...and what a result! One of the best meals we've had in a long time and good value too. Can't criticise anything...food, service, ambience were all perfect.

1  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGWG, Owner at The Priest Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Many many thanks for your wonderful review. It is always nice when you stumble across something that exceeds your expectations. We very much hope to see you in the future. Don;t forget to book a table and then go to the pub next door to sample their local ales, before coming to eat with us. Thanks again from all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I gave it another try as we found nothing else...I'm glad I did. The two new girls with dark hair are great. Especially the girl with big earings. So lovely and nice! Good choice Mr owner! Keep these girls. They changed my previous experiences.

1  Thank Born4Metal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGWG, Owner at The Priest Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear born4metal85. What a wonderful review. We certainly did not expect you to eat with us again after your last reviewof the restaurant. However we are glad that you did and thank you for taking what must have been a courageous decision to write again. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your food and our staff on this occassion. Thank you - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Called in at the Priest Hole during our recent stay on the off chance of a table. We were seated almost immediately. Hadn't been here for such a long time and wanted to see if the place had changed. There may be new faces in the restaurant but the food is as good as ever. A duck and ginger potato cake served with a soft duck egg as starter, yum! Sadly for me I was defeated by my main course of pork ribs and pork steak. I was sad to leave it but if I'd eaten any more I think I was in danger of bursting!
Great food, done well, relaxed atmosphere, couldn't ask for more :)

Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGWG, Owner at The Priest Hole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

It is always a fear when you visit an old favourite restaurant after so many years. Will it live up to expectations. We are so glad that we came up trumps and you enjoyed your visit to us. Hope you come again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visited the priest hole for the first time after lots of visits to Ambleside and was pleasantly surprised. The menu although wasn't extensive had something to suit most tastes, and there was a daily specials menu too. We ate with our 5 yr old and there was a child's menu for him with a few choices. We booked which I would recommend during the holidays as it gets busy. We had the early bird dinner ( we went at 5.30 pm) and got 3 courses for £17.00 which for Ambleside was excellent value. The food was lovely and tasty and very well presented. It's a small building and some of the floors are on a slant, but that's what you get in really old buildings. Tables are close together but no closer than any other restaurants in the area. We enjoyed it so much we went back another twice during our weeks stay. Well worth a visit for a lovely meal with decent portions and value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ladyb895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Priest Hole also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Priest Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing