We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Matthew's Bistro

Matthew's Bistro
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Really welcoming owners and excellent food! I got in early as I could tell it was going to get busy. I had the beef bourguignon which was cooked to perfection. Good portion sizes too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    225
    71
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Early Birds”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Decided to have an early dinner and arrived at 18.45. Perfect for the early dinner special menu, also discovered that they also have a mid evening special.What a great idea but even better that the full menu is also available. The early dinner menu had some excellent choices......we chose devilled mushrooms, which my wife described "as out of this world" I had the fried Brie, which was excellent. Mains were smoked haddock risotto and also scampi. Both were very good indeed. Despite being early there was a good atmosphere, comfortable chairs and plenty of space between tables. The service was first rate. This is only a small bistro but it had a big heart.
Didn't try the desserts because we were well replete.just one small criticism and that was that the coffee was not very good but that did not spoil the experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas44_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service with a smile”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

So good to have a restaurant where the owner enguages cheerfully with the customers.
The food of course was fantastic, amoung the best we've had anywhere.
Perhaps a little expensive but it is a tourist area. Happy to recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Was late booking in Matthew went out his way to fit us in. Superb food and nice friendly sercice which is not always the same in the Lakes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a lovely meal here - good choice ANC well cooked.
We liked the atmosphere, a good buzz about the place, felt relaxed and comfortable.
It was a short stride from our accommodation which was handy as we were tired from walking

Well worth a try, can recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matthew's Bistro also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Matthew's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing