We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service”

Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of the Lake District, the Doi Intanon is Ambleside's premier Thai Restaurant. Since 2000 we have strived to achieve the finest in Thai Cuisine both locally and further afield. Please book early to avoid disappointment.
Durham
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Have vivited this restaurant many times when we have stayed in Ambleside and have never been disappointed. The food and service are superb. Looking at the last review, we ate at the restaurant on the Friday night and i cannot undersatnd how anyone could complain. We had the mixed starter which was lovely. The satay chicken and prawns were really nice. I cannot comprehend how anyone can say that the food is bland. This is a superb thai restaurant and the food cannot be faulted. Some people are never happy.
We were in the upstairs of the restaurant which is new. its really nice but has not lost its charm. The owners are always pleased to see customers and asked if they felt the food was as good as the last time that we visited.
I would highly recommend this restaurant for its excellent food, service and atmosphere. We went to Lucy 4s the next night and it was more expensive and poor quality.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    297
    74
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in Ambleside Friday and Saturday night and ate here on the Friday after a recommendation from our B and B host. We did book but only on the Friday afternoon and as a result we couldn't get a table until nine thirty.

The building and decor is nice and a warm welcome from the owner and staff who were friendly and attentive throughout.

We tried the mixed starter for 2 which was disappointing bog standard deep fried spring rolls/prawn toast ect and rather overpriced at just under £7 each. The mains took quite a while to arrive and we didn't tuck into them until ten thirty. We had the curry advertised as the hottest along with chicken noodles and stir fried veggies. All the mains were reasonable enough although I have eaten better for cheaper in More than one Thai place

We had a bottle of red Rioja which was a really nice bottle of wine. The bill was just under £70.

We ate just down the road at Lucy's on a plate on the Saturday night and it was fab although more expensive.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannyh3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOCKPORT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Was really looking forward to this meal..but”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

We were so disappointed....we have eaten Thai food all over the world and this was definitely not up to scratch. Starters were quite good but it went downhill from there. My meal was absolutely tasteless. My husband said his meal was ok but for the price, ok is not good. Sorry but I would not go again and I would not recommend.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank VERTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

We were recommended to eat here by our Guest hotel where we stayed. We were soooo glad that we booked up in advance. Not only was it fully booked but they were also having to turn people away. There were a lot of locals there. Both of these show it was a good restaurant
We explained that it was our anniversary and were given a nice big table (despite it being just the two of us).
The service was good and relaxed with no pressure on ordering and vacating the table. Some advice was given over choice of food and we were also allowed to vary the combination starter (which was yummy, especially the plum sauce). This was a great introduction to authentic Thai cuisine.
We would recommend both the banana and mango juice to go with the food, all of which were excellent. One minor quibble was that we were too full to try dessert!
We had a lovely night and would go again (making sure we had pre-booked)

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Montmartre40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Ambleside Thai delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

The food was awesome and the chicken satay was best I've ever had. The main was a beef curry and the sauce was good flavour. Good service and good relaxing music. ******

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing