We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great meal”

Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Situated in the heart of the Lake District, the Doi Intanon is Ambleside's premier Thai Restaurant. Since 2000 we have strived to achieve the finest in Thai Cuisine both locally and further afield. Please book early to avoid disappointment.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Every visit to Ambleside includes a meal at this great little restaurant. On holiday with friends in the area meant that I was able to steer everyone to Doi Intanon last week. We had dishes from the vegetarian menu, including delicious satay tofu and corn cakes for starters. We weren't disappointed - food delicious, service very good and superb value. Thank you, I'll be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank isregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    311
    78
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai cuisine ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We visited without a booking but were offered a table and made to feel welcome. We chatted to the owner whilst waiting, his personal
and friendly manor made us feel comfortable and valued.
The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated, upstairs is particularly pretty and quite unexpected. The service and attention to detail was excellent, Sebastian served us the was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We had the Sea-bass and king prawn red curry both equally beautiful, packed with flavours and presented well. The food was served promptly with our choice of rice and noodles. The restaurant is well priced and is well worth a visit, it's been there for 14 years so they are certainly doing something right! We will certainly visit again... But book next time. Highly recommend :)

Helpful?
Thank Lynsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning meal after 2 mile swim”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a stunning meal at the doi lntanon.called in with no reservation, the owner asked us to sit down in the waiting area for 5 mins whilst the table was cleared .ordered a starter and a main and both came in a timely fashion and did not disappoint. Full flavoured exceptional food.we will return next time we are up in Ambleside.

Helpful?
Thank elanturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A group of 9 of us ate there last Sunday at no notice, and fairly late in the evening and they coped superbly.
I was joined in the Lakes by my wife on Thursday and I took her there (without the other 8 military types that I was in the Lakes with) with and they made the evening special for us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LargefamilyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Very nice meal at this restaurant with a great ambience inside the former Market Hall. Friendly and attentive staff, the chef also popped out to check everything was to our satisfaction. Caters for all tastes, recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Kaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Doi Intanon Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing