We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something different”
Review of Nab Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nab Cottage
Ranked #82 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“something different”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Nab cottage. Bags of charm, you can almost feel the history of the place. Roaring lounge fire and a most perfect location. Comfortable room overlooking the lake. Hosts extremely helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
24
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We enjoyed four nights at this historic cottage which is charming in a creaky way and the position wonderful being right on the lake. . The room was small but comfortable and the food was excellent. Our hot breakfasts were both hot and tasty and the homemade bread was great. Not only did they have internet access but it was fast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MosLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed in room 4 great window seat and view of Rydal Water. Superb breakfasts and great location. Shower was great good supply of toiletries and towels. Lots of help with walks and drying boots as necessary. Separate tv room and welcoming lounge. It must be said however that the floors are very creaky and our bed was on a slope so sleeping was a bit uncomfortable. Room 1 is probably the best bet.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 unless sleeping alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Charming historic cottage in beautiful setting on Rydal Water, with friendly welcoming and helpful hosts. Generous home cooked meals, snug lounge with a proper fire for after days out walking. Idiosyncratic and unspoilt.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bladeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here for 2 nights for valentines. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the friendly daughter of the owner and a cosy real log traditional fire. The cottage was warm and really characterful. A lovely sitting room and a really nice breakfast/ dining room. The whole cottage inside and out had been cared for excellently and the furnishings were really fitting considering most of it seemed to be antique which is perfect for such a historic, old cottage.

The staff were really friendly and easy to get on with and make a great cooked breakfast.
Cottage set on a lake with fells behind it, so an absolutely fantastic setting too.

20 out 20! Definitely going again!

Many Thanks,
Tom

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomthorley90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed recently at Nab Cottage as I was travelling through the Lake District. We stayed overnight and had two smallish rooms looking out over the lake, Rydal water. It was just stunning waking up in the morning and looking straight out over the lake. There isa road in front of the house, but you can cross that road and you can then walk right round the lake. Behind the hotel is Nab Scar, a hugehill which you can also climb. Fantastic breakfast in the morning; really fresh, good service and home made bread.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Nab cottage is a one-off. The house is full of history you can feel in the walls, sitting on Rydal water you have numerous good walks at your feet, we relaxed in the outdoor hammocks and sauna and enjoyed the wide variety available at breakfast, the staff couldnt be more friendly and we enjoyed some special treatments from them.

I would recommend this B and B highly for a special Lakes experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTP1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Haven Cottage
Haven Cottage
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
5.2 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nab Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nab Cottage

Property: Nab Cottage
Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Nab Cottage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing