We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and Welcoming”

Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walmar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #80 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of half term in Room 8 on the ground floor. The room was lovely, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and the Malcolm and Doreen were very friendly and helpful. Location is great, right in the heart of Ambleside with a great choice of pubs and restaurants on the doorstep. Highly recommended. Thank you for making us so welcome. Linda and Duncan

Room Tip: Room 8 is on the ground floor and sold as a luxury room. Lovely room with a sitting area and no stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a short break.clean ,comfortable ,brekfast was excellent!Malcolm welcomed us in despite the fact we were 4 hours early!we had a top floor room at back of property had a nice view of hills.good location despite being close to shops and bars found it quiet so a good night sleep was not a problem.parking a little tight but not a problem as Doreen was happy to help move cars around,Ambleside as not got a lot of convienient parking so free parking near accommedation a bonus.friendly ,helpfull service could not fault it.thankyou we enjoyed our stay.will be back.!

Room Tip: stayed in number five good view and quiet worth the walk up stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great place to stay ideal location for Ambleside, room was fine and breakfast was fantastic. Owners were extremely helpful and friendly. Thanks for a nice stay will be back. Parking could be a problem but we didn't Fi d it to be so.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi was available but very very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We've stayed in many places in Ambleside and this is one of the best. Malcolm and Doreen are lovely people, the breakfast is tremendous, the rooms are very clean and spacious and the location is top. Looking forward to going again in July.

Room Tip: The ground floor room is excellent, its a bigger than the other double rooms. Well worth paying a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmee095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B and probably our last. Although mine hosts Doreen and Malcolm were very friendly, we found it difficult to lug our bags up three flights of stairs so we chose to just take a back pack with our toiletries and just a few clothes for our 2 day stay.( I must say that Malcolm emailed us offering a cancellation if we didn't want to be on the 3rd floor) The bedroom was spotlessly clean although it was on the small side with an equally small double bed. On the down side there was nowhere to sit and relax.
The breakfasts were fabulous ( Malcolm is a trained chef) but it kind of felt like John Cleese would walk out any minute as we all had our allotted tables and as there was no music or radio, every body was talking in whispers and the only thing breaking the silence was the clinking of cutlery . Some reviewers complained about the 8.30 breakfast but what the heck...we were on holiday. The off street car parking was at the rear of the premises and consisted of 2 rows of 4 cars. Malcolm organised car repositioning for those that wanted to leave early so there was no problem. Ambleside is a great little Village well suited to explore the wonders of the Lake District including King Arthur's Round Table.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Arrived at the Walmar without booking, Doreen & Malcolm were very welcoming. Malcolm helped us to park our car in the b&b's car park. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they were very helpful. The room was very clean with nice decor. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is served at 8.30 till 9 which is a little early but well worth getting up for.
Fabulous little wine bar just down the road,live music it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had one night stay and probably the comfiest and most welcoming b@b we have have stayed in ,the rooms are excellent and the locally sourced breakfast is amazing ! the owners are very friendly and very knowledgeable about local area ,we will be returning !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#25 of 103 in Ambleside
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#53 of 103 in Ambleside
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walmar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walmar Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Walmar Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walmar is a small, family run guesthouse offering bed and breakfast accommodation in the heart of England's beautiful Lake District. Open all year, we are ideally situated for a perfect country holiday, with a truly home from home atmosphere in this fine Victorian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Walmar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walmar Bed & Breakfast Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing