We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the tasting menu”

The Old Stamp House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$64
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Barrow in Furness, Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Try the tasting menu”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have eaten here twice now after a recommendation of another Chef and both times have been truly excellent.
Front of house very friendly and professional, both times we have had the tasting menu once when it first opened and a few months later, both exceptional but second time had the edge and I guess that is because they have settled in. They were very accommodating and my sister who has been a vegetarian for years and just started eating meat again didn't want the Deer course which he happily swapped to a fish dish for her, (the deer was amazing though so she missed out there!) It was £45 and I think it was for 6 or 7 courses, which I think is great value, we ate at Northcote Manor the week after which was twice the price and to be honest not as good as here. They have local gin and ales which we all enjoyed. Atmosphere seems to be good in here too as its an old building the acoustics are good. We will definitely be back again, one of the best places to eat around here now. Oh and the milk ice-cream with salted caramel we all loved.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fayelacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    70
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lunch out with Mum and Dad. A fantastic experience and will be returning. Top notch food and service. One of the best meals I've ever had!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Book ahead!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We managed to get into this very popular restaurant, which seems to have earned quite a reputation since it opened in Feb 14. And no wonder. The food was lovely; as were the front of house team; and the ambience. We went for the Tasting menu. There were a number of dishes on the Tasting Menu which we wouldn't have chosen normally - but the whole menu was excellent. We took advice on the wines - which really paid off. All in all a lovely evening with lovely food, brought to us by a really enthusiastic and helpful team. However, they need to watch out - we had eaten at the Lake Road Kitchen a few evenings previously - and their food was even better! How lucky is Ambleside!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Old Stamp House gets our seal of approval”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We ate from the tasting menu, the highlight of which was the Brown Shrimp course with cauliflower and mead. A remarkable combination of flavours which I could have gone on eating (I noticed the same flavours are conjured up with the cod loin on the main menu: worth a try).

The Whitehaven Crab was also delicious and can be found as a starter on the main menu. A nice light, refreshing course.

I wasn't keen on the celeriac purée which accompanied the John Dory (I just don't like the flavour), happened to mention it to our waiter and chef exchanged the same purée which also came with the Grouse course for a broccoli purée instead. A nice touch.

Blue Winnow Cheese was also delicious, the salty tang of the cheese combining well with the fruity peach bread and salted caramelised almond.

The restaurant is down a flight of steps and a small whitewashed cell of a place. If eating early in the evening try to get a table near the door (sounds odd I know) but you get a view of the sun going down behind Loughrigg Fell.

You MUST book if you want to eat here. It's open Tues-Sat and we could only get a table at 6.15pm on a Tuesday (which worked fine for us because the tasting menu took us 3+ hrs). Lots of people walked in looking for a table but the restaurant was fully booked all week. This is due to the fact that they only have 1 sitting per table and there are not many covers to begin with, thus giving them time to produce the quality of food that we experienced.

A memorable meal for many reasons. Outstanding.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank othersideofthewold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borsbeek
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Give them a Michel Star plse!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is for me the top in Ambleside (not visited the Lakeside yet). Food cooked to perfection in a nice small restaurant. The waiters showed much enthusiasm and this added to the positive touch. I ate the best pigeon I ever had and the lamb was also very good. The tasting dessert also was excellent. A perfect finish to our holiday in the Lake District!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jef V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Stamp House Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Old Stamp House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing