We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnes Fell

Barnes Fell
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barnes Fell
Ranked #49 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ethna and her husband are the best B & B hosts you could ever wish to meet. The rooms are fantastic, the location is ideal with great views of the hills, the breakfast was great. The bed is comfortable, the shower is a proper shower. If we were to return to Ambleside then this would be the only place we would stay. Can't speak highly enough of Barnes Fell and Ethna, the effort she makes and her friendliness really does make the difference.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
113
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The welcome could not have been friendlier. The rooms and facilities were excellent for the price and the breakfast every bit as outstanding as promised. The free WiFi was a boon. Real quality and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Another excellent stay in Barnes Fell. Ethna made us feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. It was my husband's birthday and he wouldn't have wanted to spend it anywhere else. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts are delicious and you can specify exactly what you want, Ethna is extremely knowledgable about the local area. We have stayed in several b & bs in the Lakes as we come here often and no other comes close to Barnes Fell. Thank you Ethna & Nick - we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Loughrigg room is the best - fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoArm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in this boutique b&b after reading excellent reviews on trip advisor. We are very pleased we chose Barnes Fell with its central location within Ambleside. We stayed in the Loughrigg room which was absolutely fab plenty of room and views to die for the following morning our breakfast was superb we had an excellent stay we will definately be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is one of the best b&b s we have ever stayed in. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were really lovely and set you up for the day. Ethna couldn't do enough for you and has a great knowledge of the area. Sve lent us a walking book and give us some great tips on how to get the best of our walking day. We will be back. I really can't praise this b &b enough and the prices were a lot cheaper than others we have stayed in. Thank you so much for a lovely weekend. Xx

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliehall13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a great experience at Barnes Fell. Our room had superb views and was very clean and cosy.The bath robes were a nice touch. A lovely breakfast, close to the centre of town and very welcoming. We would recommend Barnes Fell.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front the view was panoramic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my birthday in the Loughrigg room. Room was beautiful with amazing views accross the fells. Ethna couldn't do enough for us & made us feel like we were very welcome in her home. Breakfast was delicious. This is my favourite B & B in the Lakes and we WILL be back. Thank you. X

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armstrong2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#38 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#16 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lacet House
Lacet House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnes Fell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnes Fell

Property: Barnes Fell
Address: Barnes Fell Lower Gale, Ambleside LA22 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnes Fell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barnes Fell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnes Fell Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing