We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful property and location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful property and location”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The property was lovely and full of character. It had everything we needed for our stay and was very comfortable. There were only two of us staying at the property, but it would have been comfortable for a family or group.

The cottage was easy to find and we were able to park close by every day. There were restaurants, bars and shops close by, some just across the street. There was so much to see around Ambleside. There were beautiful walks nearby and it made a great base to explore further into the Lakes.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a quaint stay in the Lake District and would love to return myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the property had everything we needed and a great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Church Cottage, Ambleside. We are delighted that you found this lovely cottage very comfortable and enjoyed its location. It is great to hear that you would recommend this property and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith W
Holywell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for a relaxing few days with my mum and daughter.”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a couple of days in Church House. The owners had very kindly left an excellent welcome pack which was most appreciated as we arrived quite late on a Sunday evening. Bread, butter, milk, cereal, jam, eggs etc. The cottage has everything you need and if you are missing anything, you are literally around the corner from the shops. We had read the reviews regarding little notes left by the owner and although some people found these annoying, we felt that they were helpful as forewarned is forearmed and can only help. We would definitely return to this charming cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you for your feedback following you recent stay at Church Cottage Ambleside. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to be charming, stocked with everything you needed and in a great location. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KylietheK...
liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Puppy Friendly, Homely with everything you could need for a short break”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage was very quaint, the kitchen was a little tired but had everything we needed. Two great plusses, parking & small courtyard, great for the dogs plus sitting out for a relaxing drink in the afternoon sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Church Cottage.

We are pleased you found the kitchen well equipped and enjoyed the courtyard garden.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Church Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
k8wstn
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Sad to say we have had a very poor break in this cottage - the cottage is in an excellent location but otherwise it is of a poor standard.

The kitchen is in poor maintenance, the dishwasher is only a table top half size and gull size as expected. We found that the kitchen cupboards were poorly maintained and the equipment quite old.

The log burner did not work as it had not bee cleaned and the logs provided to burn were damp and not effective.

The 'sofa's' are in fact sofa beds and quite uncomfortable.

There are instructions all over the property, some just on scrappy pieces of cardboard advising everything from 'only use thin toilet paper' to 'do not touch the clock' (padlocked to the wall and stuck on with sellotape FYI). Felt very unprofessional & unwelcoming. Perhaps a welcome booklet with some information about the property would have sufficed. Poorly cleaned, not ready on time, no high chair as booked and broken glass on the lounge floor.

Would not recommend this unless you do not plan to spend much time in the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Scrappy notes all over and attitude of the owner towards guests
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
We are sorry these guests didn’t enjoy their stay as we work very hard to welcome guests. The
wood burner works perfectly and some ash is left in deliberately, on advice, to protect the metal from sudden
heat. The logs we supply are dry, but previous guests may have add logs themselves. In any case, logs etc.
are available on the adjacent street. A thick file labelled “Household Instructions “
has always been on the window seat by the dining table. We use B. S. Approved cleaning materials, and paper roll, not
cloths, for cleaning and spend a minimum of ten man hours each change over. We have been told by guests that cleanliness is above average. A high chair has always been upstairs and a phone call
would have resolved this. A high chair is now permanently down stairs on view. We later
learnt that Angela in the guest house cafe lent a high chair to these guests,
so they were never without a chair when in the property.
When people have a breakage, as during this stay, it is best to call the owners
for assistance, as pieces of the lidded glass vase were still at the back of the wood
burner after their departure. This property was ready before time,
otherwise we would have been able to welcome the guests personally.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraVicto...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage with character in a great location.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great location with easy access to the town and walks. The cottage was perfect for a couple with a dog. Stone floors ideal for pets. The log burning stove was a nice feature.
We found the bed in one bedroom very soft and had to swap to the other firmer bed in the second bedroom.The building suited our requirements well and I would certainly stay there again. The garden is small but then who cares when you have the Lake District at your doorstep!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blackpool
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing