We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and flexible start date”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent location and flexible start date”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Right in the centre of Ambleside but with parking so we could leave the car and walk. Well equipped rental and clean and comfortable. We needed a flexible start date so this was great to find. Traffic was noisy in a morning but we are early risers and got out before the crowds - especially important if we wanted to use the car. Ambleside is central for lots of lovely walks to suit all abilities and various attractions including some interesting National Trust properties

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Tom Heights. We are delighted you had a great holiday and found the location of the property excellent. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJfromthe...
East Lothian, UK
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT HIDEAWAY FOR TWO PEOPLE”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This little apartment has everything two people need in Ambleside. The location is brilliant. Pubs, cafés, restaurants and shops are all within a two-minute walk and the legendary Zeffirelli's cinema and restaurant is right next door. You can even avoid having to make your own morning coffee by nipping across the road to Esquire's!

The delightful living room is very cosy and comfortable. There is a good selection of books and local maps. The TV has a DVD player.

There is just the right amount of equipment for two people in the smart kitchen which has a full cooker, a microwave, dishwasher and fridge freezer. They even throw in a welcome bottle of wine!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Tom Heights. We are delighted you found this to be a perfect apartment and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraE
Bournemouth, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved our stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is definitely the hidden gem of Ambleside. Tastefully decorated, well equipped and comfortable.
We were a little put off at first because of previous comments about parking. We have a 4x4 and reversed into the parking spot with no trouble.
Very handy for restaurants, pubs and cinema. We would stay again if we return to Ambleside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Tom Heights, Ambleside. We are delighted you loved your stay at this little gem of an apartment and had no problems parking your 4x4 in the parking spot. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynzP365
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved this apartment! When we first arrived we were rather apprehensive as the entrance hall was bare floorboards and smelt damp but a note (with a nice bottle of red wine) in the apartment explained it was due to the floods that Ambleside suffered earlier in the year. As soon as we walked in we felt at home. The kitchen was very modern and well equipped and the décor in the whole apartment was warm and welcoming. The rooms were bigger than we expected with plenty of storage space in the bedroom. The location was excellent for proximity to the centre of the village and 2 minutes walk would find cinemas, restaurants and shops. The only minor issue we had was with noise from the street - we got used to the traffic noise but unfortunately there were a few occasions of drunken revellers! If you want scenic views from your accommodation this maybe not for you but a short walk/drive gives you all the scenery you could ask for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely atmosphere
Liked least: Noise from street
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Tom Heights in Ambleside. We are delighted you loved this gorgeous apartment and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sometimes...
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Thanks for accommodating us at short notice. We had a hugely enjoyable stay in this cosy apartment for two. It was well equipped and comfortably furnished, and decorated in warm colours that are rare to see these days, which made the stay even more enjoyable. The Persian rug in the lounge was such a delight, we're now looking for one similar!
Tom Heights was so well situated we didn't really need the car once parked, and we found the flat surprisingly peaceful given the town centre location. A particular bonus was having Zefirellis 'vegeterranean' restaurant so close. We'll be back soon I hope.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Tom Heights, Ambleside. We are delighted you had a hugely enjoyable stay and it is great to hear that you plan to return soon. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakee001
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Second time staying here in 18 months. Fell in love with this cute, clean and cosy getaway the first time round and just had to come back. Perfect location for walks and eating/drinking in Ambleside. Well furnished, always clean with well equipped kitchen. With the addition of wifi since our first stay we couldn't ask for me, it has everything we need for a week away.

We will definitely be returning in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Parking space is a little tight/not easy to access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Tom Heights, Ambleside. We are delighted to hear that you returned for a second visit and enjoyed your stay once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeganEvan...
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect little holiday getaway.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights during August and had a great time. The apartment was perfectly sized for 2 people and beautifully decorated making it feel very homely. On arrival the place was spotlessly clean and we even found a bottle of red left for us which was a great touch. The kitchen had all the appliances needed if you fancied cooking at home and the lounge had great books and maps for recommended hikes and activities. Location was perfect - right in the centre of town with both supermarkets only a few minutes walk and a nice coffee shop opposite for morning coffee runs. Ambleside itself is a lovely little town with lots of nice pubs, cafes and shops.
Only thing to be aware of is the tight parking around the back, manoeuvring in and out of the space was quite a hassle if all the other spaces were full so need to be careful - would not recommend driving a 4x4 in there! Other than that, really enjoyed my holiday there and would definitely come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Tom Heights in Ambleside. We are delighted that you found the cottage and its location perfect and had a great stay. It is lovely to hear that you would definitely return to this property and we hope to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
0107687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing