We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, well equipped accommodation...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole J
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location but.........”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great Location, good size, nice decor, very clean apart from a lot of cobwebs, especially in corners of kitchen ceiling and around velux windows. Good wifi connection. A lot of rules dotted about as a previous reviewer said, mainly common sense. We did find we could hear a fair bit of noise from upstairs, we could hear voices and when owners were walking around what we think was the kitchen above our lounge it was very noisy. Also we had no control over the heating settings so if the weather had been very cold there is just the flame effect fire in the lounge outside the times the heating came on, which was not sufficient to heat the whole apartment. Yes, we probably could've asked the owners to put the heating on at different times, but when you are paying a premium price should you have to? Just a note on communication, there was no acknowledgement when we paid the final balance and we. almost felt we should email to check they had received it. All in all a nice apartment but too many negatives for us in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise from upstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Long Crag Annexe, Ambleside. We are sorry that this property did not meet with your expectations; your comments have been forwarded to the owner. Regarding your note on communication - an email confirmation is immediately sent following all payments. Had you made us aware of any issue with this we would have been more than happy to resend this and/or discuss payments over the telephone.
We do hope to welcome you to a different property in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveChel...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location but some disappointments”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned today from a 4 night stay at Long Crag. The apartment is in a perfect location just 5 minutes walk into Ambleside where you have a great selection of restaurants, pubs and outdoor/walking shops!!
Overall the apartment was clean, Wifi was good and had all we needed, however it would have been useful to have some basic instructions on how everything worked. (Although there is one pager on the hall wall on what dogs aren't allowed to do.... something as responsible dog owners we would have done anyway)
eg: Freezer (no small freezer compartment in fridge, this was all we needed to freeze ice blocks)
Washing machine (Could not get it on the right setting to spin so all washing had to be dried on the radiators)
Recycling (Did not realise there were recycling boxes outside) Heating (This comes on automatically which is great, but again it would have just been nice to have that written down)

Our main disappointments with this apartment were:
The noise from upstairs. 6am they get up and the noise is just ridiculous every movement can be heard. Apart from 6am, we were also woken through the night when they had got up one time at 2am! This apartment is the ground floor of a house that has not been fully converted so the original stairs are still visible and simply blocked off hence allows noise and light from upstairs to travel .....

We assume upstairs were the owners, although they were polite and said hello to us they never actually confirmed who they were and asked if everything was ok. If they are the owners then this would have just been simple courtesy to introduce themselves.

The other main disappointment was the garden! What garden!! We had booked this based on the garden being shared and the impression that it was enclosed and easily accessible from the apartment door, however this is not dog friendly, on arriving the lady upstairs (maybe the owner??) told me "Yes your dog may go to the toilet on my garden but there is a field over the road 5 minutes away which would be good to use!!" We were made to feel awkward with this response. The garden area is set next to the drive which is also not enclosed so having to stand outside with our dog last thing at night and first thing in the morning for him to do his business was not great. Note: There is no lawn area only patio, slate and shrubs.

The driveway is pretty small and taken up by the owners?? 3 vehicles (motorhome, Van and car) so getting in and out of the car especially unpacking & packing up was not the easiest.

The last point even though the lounge was overall ok we did not use the sofa as it was not comfortable in the slightest which was a bit disappointing but at least the two single seaters were fine.

Saying all the above negative points about the apartment we stayed in we had such a ball in Ambleside and the Lake District area, amazing views on every corner, really friendly people, superb walks and had a spectacular trek up Scafell Pike which our dog absolutely loved. We will be definitely back to the Lake District but unfortunately we would not use Long Crag as our base next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to Ambleside
Liked least: Outside space for dog & parking and noise from upstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Long Crag Annexe.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the property within Ambleside and used it as a base to explore the surrounding area. Also, the property was clean and was well equipped for your stay.

On regards to the comments you have raised, Lakes Cottage Holidays do not advertise that the garden is enclosed and there is photographs on our website showing the garden area. Our website also states there is only space to park one car.

According to our records, we were not contacted during your stay, if we were we could of spoken to the owner for you to ask if there were any further instructions for the appliances. Since learning that you found a lack of information in the property, we are investigating this with the owner for future guests.

Lakes Cottage Holidays pride ourselves in our customer service and we are sorry that you feel that there were some issues during your stay. We hope that this comments you have raised did not detract you from your stay in the Lake District and we hope to welcome you back to another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodad22
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy From Above”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and the place itself is absolutely fine for a couple. The king size bed is very comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped, the rooms are very warm, the shower room is spacious with plenty of hot water. The wi-fi was fast and worked perfectly. We didn't find the seating in the lounge as comfortable as it looks on the photos. The TV was a large screen and worked perfectly. The property is a short 5 to 10 minute walk into Ambleside, so it is well positioned and there is no traffic noise.
So far, so good.
The only problem we found was the noise from the creaking floorboards and the washing machine above. We aren't particularly light sleepers (we live on a main road) and we certainly aren't the type to complain!! However, we found that we were woken up at whatever time the people above wished to be awake (which included 3 and 4 o'clock in the morning on 2 occasions and regularly around 6.30 to 7.30 every other day).
We did email the owner and she offered he humble apologies and blamed it on her son and assured us it wouldn't happen again.... but it did. Such a shame as otherwise it's a great place to stay. I would recommend the place other than that, but if you want a quiet, peaceful cottage, you too might find the horrendously creaking floorboards too much to handle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your review at Long Crag Annexe.

We are pleased to learn you found the bed comfortable, the kitchen well equipped and enjoyed the location of the property.

We are sorry to hear you found the floor boards noisy during your stay. We do state the property is a ground floor apartment and is part of a larger modern house.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Ambleside and we hope to welcome you back to a Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyl050
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped accommodation, friendly owners”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Our experience at Long Crag was completely different from that of the previous (and only other) reviewer on tripadvisor. We found the owners to be friendly and helpful. The accommodation was very comfortbale, clean, well equipped and warm. The wifi worked continuously while we were there, and there was milk in the (large) fridge! The visitors book was full of glowing references from people who had returned two or three times. The location, just five minutes walk from the Ambleside shops, was very convenient, and we had a lovely view of the local fells from our window.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Long Crag Annexe.

We are delighted to hear you found the owners to be friendly and helpful and found the property to be clean, well equipped and in a good location for your visit to Ambleside.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Long Crag Annexe or another Lakes Cottage Holdiays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philhuds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointing”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
6
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a peaceful holiday this is not for you, whilst the property is well equipped, clean (apart from crockery & cutlery which we had to wash what we needed before use) & in an excellent location the noise from above was at times unbearable! It sounded like there was a herd of elephants charging around at times & without fail during the week we were awoken at 6am by what sounded like a child coughing, no holiday lie-ins here.
In normal circumstances we may have said something about the noise however we did get off on the wrong foot. We have been on many self catering holidays with our dog & as she is crate trained always take that along with us so after a days walking she can be left to have a rest (as she does have leg problems) & we can go out & enjoy a meal. Normally we settle in & leave her at some point on the 2nd day, however on arrival at Long Crag we were desperate for a drink & for the 1st time in our self catering experience their was no pint of milk waiting for us, so we decided to put her to bed whilst we popped to the shop. As normal for a dog being left in a strange place for the 1st time she may whine for a few minutes but we have never had any problems before. On walking back up the drive from the shop we were confronted by an intimidating figure at the top of the steps to the property above, we can only presume it was the owner as there were no introductions, saying you cant leave your dog alone down there its been crying & barking, I apologised & explained she was in her crate so cant do any damage, to which the response we were told that she was worried about the dog due to the noise & thought it was cruel leaving her. When we got inside their was no noise coming from our dog. It soon became apparent that if she had been making any noise it was due to the noise being made above. Later on we did see a notice on the wall with a list of phone numbers saying dogs cant be left & I have no problem with someone coming to us & telling us that, but there are ways of doing it, especially if you are in the "hospitality" business. We changed our plans over the week & did not leave our dog alone (no romantic anniversary meal or birthday treats this week!) but whilst in the property were always on guard to reassure our dog of the noises above so that she didn't bark.
The property also advertises free wifi, what it doesn't tell you it is for 4 hours a day between 9-11am & 7-9pm (the times most holiday makers would not be in the property)
Thankfully we were incredibly lucky with the weather for our weeks stay & despite wanting to leave after the initial confrontation we managed to enjoy our holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nose, WiFi was timed & Noise from above.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing