We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thorneyfield”
Review of Thorneyfield

Thorneyfield
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thorneyfield
Ranked #58 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“thorneyfield”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Great place to stay. Very friendly & great breakfasts.
Also very central for all the pubs restaurants & shop's .
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    36
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
25
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My family stayed at Thorneyfield for four nights over Easter. The location was excellent and the room size was good. However, the bathroom was small for a family of four and the breakfast, while fine, was not the highlight it often is at a B&B. Alison and Alan were efficient but the extra human touches which make the stay special were missing. Overall, Thorneyfield is good value for money but it is worth paying the extra £10-20 a night to enjoy a more special welcome. My brother stayed next door with his family and would go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Even though this review was left almost one month ago now we still feel extremely upset about it's content which we feel is both harsh and unfair. Every single other review posted on this or other review sites always compliments us on both the size and quality of our breakfast and the quality and warmth of our welcome.

On the breakfast when I spoke to the gentleman to ask him why he was unhappy with his breakfast "experience" and what else was missing from a selection of items inlcuding a variety of cereals, fruit juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants and of course a full cooked breakfast; his only comment was that perhaps we could have offered a replacement for an item on the cooked menu which he didn't want. I thanked him for this suggestion and have taken his idea on board, but still feel that this criticism is very harsh and feel that theother reivews bear this thought out.

In reference to our friendliness we are even more upset about this than the breakfast comments. We do strive to be freindly and helpful to all our guests and again previous reviews bear this out. We even recall one day helping the gentleman's wife with ideas on what to do on a rainy day where Alison sat down with her and a map and talked this through. We also recall chatting to their children, but on their first day did aplogise for the fact that we had a member of family seriously ill in hospital a long way from us which meant a lot of tiring travelling and strain.

We did apologise for this and would hope that we were still friendly and helpful and if the guest felt that we weren't then we can only sincerely apologise, but given the circumstances would have hoped that if we were in someone else's shoes we would be understanding and sympathetic.

You can't win them all sadly, but one review like this can be very damning and we would love to give the gentleman another opportunity to see the same positives that our other guests have and we will certainly redouble our efforts to be the best in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We go at least twice a year to the Lake district and have been returning to Alison's and Alan's B&B year in year out. Both are very friendly and help you with whatever they can. The breakfast is fabulous, fruit juices, fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, marmalade, croissants, toast and the fabulous full English breakfast.
We always ask for a bedroom at the backside of the house, the front side might be a bit noisy in the early night (people going home after a night in the pub).
Alison can give you a parking permit, if you ask her, so you can park at one of the parkings in Ambleside (for free).
Bedroms are clean and the ones at the back of the house are very spacious. Everything is provided for, shampoo, body lotion, very soft towels. There is a fridge, coffee, tea, biscuits, TV with DVD player, DVD's are available, radio. Very good double bed and the rooms are all refurbished.
This is certainly the place to go to.
Ableside itself is a very nice little town, with several restaurants, places were you can buy lunch (the picnic box). A good not too expensive restaurant is "Todds" not far from the big parking.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side of the house are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We (me + wifey) wanted a couple of days away and like the lake district, so I found this B+B online. We arrived Thursday about 3.30 pm. Alison answered the door and showed us to our room; No 2. It had a double bed and a single bed; small fridge; dressing table; wardrobe and bed side table. Small digital TV with DVD player and a selection of DVD's available on the landing.

The en-suite was very small but perfectly adequate; toilet, hand basin + walk-in shower.

The bed was very comfortable.

I was given a private parking space for my car around the back.

We were pretty much left to our own devises which suited us, but I am sure if we had needed anything we would have been helped.

Breakfast was very nice. There was cereal, fruit, yoghurt; fruit juice; but I went for the full English both days. A nice big pot of tea too.

We ate out in the evening + I would recommend Matthews Bistro which is on the same road as this B+B, just up a bit. (see my review). For a nice pub with entertainment most nights try the Unicorn.

For a good clean B+B with good breakfast; you won't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COLIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

To look on the positive side, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was quite impressive, although it was not possible to lay down in the bath. And Thorneyfield is situated very conveniently close to the bus stops on nearby Kelsick Rd.
But the single room I occupied was not very comfortable. The chair was a canvas camping chair and there was no table or shelf to put a cup of tea or glass of wine on, so I had to put my drinks on the floor, and was worried about spilling them. The room overlooked a very busy main road, so there was a lot of traffic noise. And I was woken early both mornings I stayed by noisy plumbing. The fruit salad for breakfast was excellent, but I was disappointed that, on both days that I stayed, my fried egg had a broken yolk.
Alison seemed very nice and quite friendly (I didn't meet Alan), but I'm afraid I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenwoman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the B & B and Alison couldn't have been nicer. Very welcoming, fab breakfast, lovely rooms and in the centre of Ambleside. Couldn't have been better.

Will definately be back and will be recommending to friends and family :)

Has a very handy fridge in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lefty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Alison and Alan run a gem of a b&b which delivers all you would want; the rooms are clean, have great facilities and good views and Thorneyfield is right in the middle of Ambleside. Alison's breakfasts are delicious and her and Alan can't do enough for you; surely the Lake District's hidden gem, just great vfm.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoPar1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.5 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#60 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 23 in Hawkshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#12 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Property: Thorneyfield
Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorneyfield 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing