We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find!”
Review of Thorneyfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thorneyfield
Ranked #49 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Thorneyfield Guest House was a brilliant place to stay. Seven of us visited as a family and had a wonderful time. Nothing was too much trouble for Alison, and she made us feel extremely welcome. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were amazing: plenty of choice for the continental style, and generous portions of the usual fare for a full English. The photos do not do the place justice - it's even lovelier in the flesh!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a short break with a view to doing some walking.
Very friendly and helpful hosts, couldn't do enough for you.
Rooms good, breakfast awesome and great location in middle of town.
Will definately come again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was our first time at Thorneyfield and we were influenced by the previous good reviews we had seen. We were not disappointed-our hosts were welcoming and friendly (including the cat) and the breakfasts were fantastic. Our family room was located on the top floor at the rear overlooking the fells and was very quiet. The room was clean and bright, with a TV/DVD player and more than ample tea and coffee making facilities. We have stayed in similar places before, what sets Thorneyfield apart are the small touches such as the provision of a mini fridge, free WiFi and DVD's and CD's which are readily available to borrow. The other plus points are the fluffy towels not to mention the lovely hosts. The only minor negative point is the lack of on site parking; however this is more than compensated for by the provision of a free parking permit which covers the surrounding towns as well as Ambleside itself. We found it problematic to park initially due to arriving on a very busy mid morning during the Autumn term break. It would be much less of an issue at other times of the year. We would definately recommend and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

OMG... After spending hours searching the net for a B & B I chose this one.
Beautiful..... Even tho it didnt stop raining :-)
The owners are amazing, friendly,helpful & all round lovely!!!!!!
Lovely cooked breakfast in the morning.
Rooms spotless.
Would i recommend?
DEFO.....
Great value for money.
& lovely big bath towels.

Room Tip: ROOM 5 Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cas1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I strongly disagree with the review of Marcus 0101

Alison and Alan could not have been more helpful and friendly, Nothing was too much trouble,the free parking was a bonus

The breakfast was excellent.well cooked with a delicious choice of yoghourts fresh fruit, freshly baked croissants

The room was spotless and tastefully decorated and very spacious

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jew0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

When we booked Thorneyfield we had no previous experience of Ambleside but needed somewhere to sleep near to Langdale Chase Hotel for a wedding & had added problem of our 13 yr old daughter who would be on double crutches after a hip operation. Alison not only allowed us to register early - so we could change into wedding outfits after our journey but also arranged for a parking space immediately behind the property! A lovely welcome, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfasts were great & big enough to keep us going most of the day. Our daughter didn't want a cooked breakfast but asked Alison for scrambled egg on toast, She really enjoyed her breakfast, commenting " the best scrambled eggs I've had!" The fruit salad on offer was seasonal & fresh ( absolutely delicious). Our 3 night stay ( the only holiday that we'll get this year) was made better by the thoughtfulness & help of Alison & Alan. Our room was really large for a family room and beds very comfortable - so a very big thank you to Alison & Alan for a fantastic break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your kind words which are much appreciated and mean so much to us.

Alison & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this bed and breakfast - the owners Alison and Alan are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. I have a 9 month old daughter and when my husband and I decided to book a night in Ambleside I was shocked to find that the places we have stayed in previously do not accept babies/ young children. I was worried that we would not be able to find a b and b but on typing in 'baby friendly b and b' Thorneyfield popped up. On arrival we were met by Alison who could not have been more lovely. We were shown to our room which was a family room and was really big with a double bed and 2 singles and an en-suite bathroom. The room was spotless and had a tv with a built in dvd player (and a catalogue of dvds on the landing to boot!) and the room had it's own fridge which was so very helpful due to our little daughters bottles etc. The view from the room was lovely too.
The bed was so comfortable and we had a lovely nights sleep. My Daughter stayed in a travel cot we had brought but fyi Alison has a travel cot available there too. Breakfast was beautiful - I was so impressed. There is a selection of cereals/ beautiful fresh fruit salad/ croissants/ juices followed by a cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was gorgeous and there was lots of it! The atmosphere in the breakfast room was laid back and friendly, everyone was having such a lovely stay. A high chair that looked brand new out the box was supplied for my daughter at the breakfast table.
On speaking to Alison we were told that Alan has a full time job as well as helping with the b and b of a weekend so basically Alison runs this establishment on her own weekdays! I was so impressed - they both work so hard and Thorneyfield is a credit to them and their hard work.
Also, it is in a fantastic location - I highly highly recommend this to everyone - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NICOLAGRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#9 of 23 in Hawkshead
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £73 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorneyfield 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing