We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely & Hearty Breakfasts!”
Review of Thorneyfield

Thorneyfield
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thorneyfield
Ranked #57 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a lovely stay here at the end of September, a great location in the heart of Ambleside and an added bonus of a parking pass for the local car park up the road, just as well as everything is within walking distance, we had pre-booked the film and meal deal at Zefferelli's for one of the nights and didn't realise how close we were to the cinema, about a minute out of the door! We had a warm welcome to our comfortable family room and it was choc full of everything you could need, a well stocked hospitality tray, fridge,wifi, radio alarm, ipod and iphone chargers, tv and dvd with a good choice of dvd's to borrow on the landing outside, they have really thought of everything here. After a good nights sleep in spacious comfy beds we went down to the sunny cosy breakfast room. Breakfasts are amazing, fresh fruit, yoghurts,croissants and hearty cooked breakfasts accompanied by toast and jam, all you need to set you up for walking in this beautiful area. My only complaint is that we weren't here for longer! I will look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Vegetarians are well catered for
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmarie_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Thorneyfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights at the end of July 2013 with my family - 2 adults/s kids. Great that they had a Family room available at the top of the house. We were at the back of the house - so a very quiet room. Alison and Alan were very welcoming and charming - delicious breakfasts every morning, no problem with special dietary requirements.

Place will be undergoing some bathroom modernisation, so will be even better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as away from the main road.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One-night visit with my wife through booking agency. Very friendly & helpful hosts (my wife has a special diet which was generously and unobtrusively cared for). It was small details which determined 4* rather than 5* for me - one of the bedroom windows wouldn't shut (no handle) which made for a lot of traffic noise in the night; bulbs missing from the overbed lights; fridge noise during the night; & a low bathroom mirror making it difficult to shave. Each one of these is a minor problem - and didn't detract from the general and very good ambience of this extablishment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are probably quieter
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Hello and thank you for your review. They say that life is all about timing and unfortunately with the light fitting, a rather overzealous guest previous to the gent had damaged it and it is awaiting an electrician to repair it this week; the same applies ot the handle which again suffered at the hands (fate) of the same previous guest.

As for the fridge noise, prior to this we have only ever had praise that we have provided this facility whereas no other B&B has done, so I guess that you can't win them all as they say.

Finally as regards the height of the mirror, I'm 6' 2" tall myself and my wife is 5' 5" and it can be really hard to satisfy all guests as to the right height to position mirrors.

As the gentleman says, the room is on a main road, so 2 for sleep quality seemsharsh, as does 3 for a room boasting, a fridsge, generous hospitality tray, a tv and dvd player, an ipod dock with digital radio and so on.

We will as ever strive to see how we can realistically take on board guests comments in a bid to keep on improving, so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We visited Thorneyfield for two nights mid July 2013.
There was a warm welcome from both Alison and Alan, we were shown to our spacious, very clean room at the back of the house overlooking a great view.
The breakfast was more than adequate and we were happy to oblige by filling in our breakfast requests the evening before.
Both Alan and Alison were friendly and approachable and had a good knowledge of their surroundings.
We will definitely be making a return visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stopped at Thorneyfield in a group of 9, using 5 rooms.
The rooms were of various sizes, configurations and levels of decoration.
We stayed in room 5 on the top floor which was a small double room with a very small en suite but was the best decorated of the rooms.
Despite facing the main road we had no problems with traffic noise.
A comfy bed, LCD TV and DVD library added to the experience but the highlight was the very high quality breakfast with both comprehensive continental and full English options.
Parking was free with use of a parking permit.
There is a lot of competition for B&Bs in Ambleside but we would definitely stay here again if we could get the same room.

Room Tip: We thought room 5 on the top floor was best for a couple.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived a bit early but alison was understanding, the room wasnt cleaned but she showed us where we would be staying and gave us a car parking pass, we didn't have any of our things with us so went and got everything. By the time we got there again the room was done. The rooms were tidy and clean with plenty of space! The en-suite is small but not needed any bigger for the stay.
If you do stay in the front rooms it can be a bit noisy.
The breakfasts were excellent value and alison is flexible with what you want. On the form you can opt for a full English or continental breakfast, if you put the full English you can still help your self to the continental option in the morning-my boyfriend took advantage of this!!
Alison was helpful if you needed anything.
Definitely go back again and recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends following a walk up Scafell Pike. Upon arrival we were given a parking permit so that we could park round the back of the B&B for free. The rooms were well sized, although the bathrooms were on the small side (not that it's particularly important the size of the bathroom!)

The beds were comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was excellent. When you get into your room then you'll find a form with the options for breakfast the next day and any special requests are dealt with.

We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#62 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#54 of 103 in Ambleside
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park House Guest House
Park House Guest House
#61 of 103 in Ambleside
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claremont House Guest House
Claremont House Guest House
#31 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorneyfield 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing