We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value B&B in Ambleside”
Review of Thorneyfield

Thorneyfield
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thorneyfield
Ranked #57 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights in May 2014.....and could not fault the service provided....perfect location for Zeffs in the evening....breakfasts were consistently very good....room and bath room decorated to the highest standard....try it....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebeloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Thorneyfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We had stayed at Thorneyfield for 3 nights with my Husband and my parents and sister, hence we had booked one family room and one double room.

Since the time I had a word with Alison for the booking on a phonecall, I had got a feeling that it's somehow going to be awesome, and it proved to be exactly like that.

Very nice and clean rooms- I loved the duvet covers very stylish and gave a very holiday feeling with personalised gestures like mints on the pillows.

We good bathroom amenities as well with good quality shower gel and hand wash and cream.
Although the bathrooms are a bit tiny, but the rooms are so good that you don't really care..

Having a mini fridge was an add on, nicely presented welcome tray.

Special mention to Alison, who is extremely friendly and very warm and knows exactly the rules of hospitality and how to make her guests feel at home.

The breakfast was very nice and filling too. We are vegetarians so she even made us different types of eggs everyday for all 5 of us.
Breakfast is more than sufficient to have you go on till evenings.

I really liked the way they had selection of dvd's and books for the guests to use. Something very sweet.

Overall very very good..i would surely love to be back and also recommend it to everyone.

Thumps up- Alison and Alan, keep up the great work.!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grishma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

HI guys we just wanted to sincerely thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while we did the Brathay Windermere marathon.
hosts were very friendly and welcoming, allowing us to keep our bike inside, and have breakfast a little earlier due to the marathon.
Comfy room, even if the bathroom was a little small, great location and we would consider staying here again if we are lucky enough to return to the lake district!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here at the weekend due to attending a friend's wedding close to the venue. We were made to feel very welcome and breakfast was fantastic.

Pros:
- Run by a very friendly couple who, although they sadly could not be there to greet us (which was totally understandable), made us feel very welcome at breakfast the next morning.
- Fantastic breakfast, both the fried and the continental
- It was clean throughout and the room facilities were ok
- Good location for exploring Ambleside
- Parking, although you either have the single space at the rear or a pass for the car park a few minutes walk away
- Decent en suite although tiny

Cons:
- It is not mentioned anywhere that they have cats in the B&B. They do not bother me, but both my partner and my friend's partner were having to take antihistamines as they were suffering from pet allergies
- We struggled to sleep due to the road noise and could not close our window as the handle was missing (it was also missing in a review back in july 13). This also made the room a tad chilly on a night and is the reason for the average sleep quality and room.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms at the rear of the guest house
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlength
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

B&B was fab, very friendly staff and great service ... BEWARE the 'local' bus service ! Walked with the family to Grasmere from Ambleside on the coffin route with the intention of returning on the bus ... THE BUS ARRIVED .. realised (after the event) that the tourist bus plans to arrive just before the local advertised bus service ... RIPPED OFF good and proper for a relatively short journey, avoid the 599 and go for the 555 service .. Bus driver knew exactly what he was doing ... THINGS LIKE THIS make you start to lose confidence in the good that once was in this Country ??

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Really good value for money. The single room may not be en-suite but the private bathroom more than makes up for it - there's a heated towel rail, a beautiful lit mirror, it's fully tiled, has a great power shower and even a dressing gown! The breakfast in the morning was lovely. Would definately stop again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

One of the best b&b I've ever stayed in - comfortable,stylish, fantastic breakfast. Best of all is Alison, who is so friendly and can't do enough to make you feel welcome . Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyaPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,708 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#62 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#54 of 103 in Ambleside
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park House Guest House
Park House Guest House
#61 of 103 in Ambleside
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Claremont House Guest House
Claremont House Guest House
#30 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £62 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorneyfield 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorneyfield Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing