We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorneyfield Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
66
38
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
38
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roombiscuitscooked breakfastprivate bathroomsingle roomfacing the main roadlovely hostsparking permityogurtvisit amblesidefriendly coupleexcellent showernice toiletriesbeds were very comfortablestayed for nightspreservesfluffy towels
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting with friends. Was made very welcome and shown to my room. I had a separate bathroom for use only by myself so the fact that it wasn't actually in the room was not an issue. The whole place was wonderfully clean and comfortable. Breakfast was so plentiful that I only needed a child's portion of cooked breakfast and it was delicious. The resident cats made the place very homely and calming. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kayakgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed recently at thorneyfield . The room we had was very clean with spotless bedding and bathroom. There was 2 folding chairs in the room plus a 5 star range of tea , coffee and biscuits. Better than some of the starred hotels. The breakfast was also above average for a b&b, a large bowl of fresh fruit including strawberriesand best of all for me a coffee lover, a cafetiere of coffee. Alison was a very attentive hostess and made sure everyone felt at home and well catered for. (Allen was in the kitchen) An outstanding b&b for the price. Sorry you two if you are due to decorate, but the outside of the building made us think it was going to be awful inside. In fact I was ready to leave before we went in. Hope you take this as constructive criticism as we would not hesitate to stay again and recommend you, but first appearances are important.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beryl Pyatt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorneywolf1893, Owner at Thorneyfield Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi and thanks for your comments which are appreciated. Please don't think that the front of the house is always like this! We are currently waiting for work to be done on the bay window and like anything in these parts it is taking a frustratingly long time to sort out. Hopefully if you come again you will see the property back at its best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned home from thorneyfield guest house and it was amazing. Alison and Alan where amazing hosts. They accommodated for our pushchair and helped us to our room. The room was beautiful more than enough space for the 3 of us and a wonderfully clean space. The bathroom was great! Having an en suite was brilliant and all the homely touches such as kettle, fridge, coffee and tea facilities in the room along with biscuits and toiletries was fantastic.

Alison was brilliant at breakfast she remembered who ate what and was a wonderful host. Breakfast was delicious and locally sourced with a great choice.

We booked before we left to return in 6 weeks and are really looking forward to it. You have to try it! Great rates and great b&b.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leoni-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for the Great North Swim. Lovely welcome, great situation & delicious breakfast with lots of choice.
We stayed in a room at the back of the building, there were only 2 of us but we had the family room which was lovely. They provide a tea & coffee facilities, mini-fridge, and even wine glasses and a bottle opener, which was a lovely touch.
The bathroom was quite small and if there were any more of us in the room it would have been difficult to manage. Also, the decor was a little dated and there appeared to be some damp in the top corners & some repair work required.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank BGDee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spent 3 nights here over the bank holiday - large family room v comfortable with great coffee making and biscuits in the room. Good location in the heart of Ambleside. No problem that we arrived really late on the first night. Would use it again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesvrech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews