We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They offer a good range of Cumbrian ales!”
Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #68 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“They offer a good range of Cumbrian ales!”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Unicorn is tucked away up the hill behind the Tourist Information/Post Office at the northern end of Ambleside. It’s a good, old-fashioned Robinsons pub frequented by both locals and tourists. They offer a good range of Cumbrian ales and also evening food although we didn’t eat there. It was warm and comfortable for a cold winter’s evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobLong214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    40
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
14
72
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a quaint pub in a great location in Ambleside. Staff are very friendly and nice atmosphere, with regular love music which is nice. Food is best avoided even the steak pie wasn't good. Could be great with a better chef and a spring clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank scally70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Didnt eat here just called in for a beer. Staff were ok, locals seemed friendly and all the tables were fully booked with people being turned away. The menu seemed good and decent value for the area. Would consider eat here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJBrown81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We went here on recommendation as a pub that would do us hearty food. Unfortunately it turned out that they could not provide quality food while accommodating a gluten-free allergy. We were impressed by the size of the meals that others were tucking into, so it is true that the servings are hearty. My partner's steak and ale-filled giant yorkshire also looked fantastic and huge, although there was no veg or anything. It was, literally, a yorkshire filled to the brim with steak and ale casserole, but for the reasonable price-tag was a great dinner.

My partner was also really happy with the beer which I think were some of the better pints he had while we were away.

The item I identified that I could eat (I couldn't have anything with gravy as I was advised that the sauces all had gluten and I didn't fancy having a meat dish without any accompanying sauce) was the trout. Supposedly fried in herb butter and served with vegetables, side salad and jacket potato. The Jacket potato was amazingly tasty and supports my theory that if you stick to standard pub grub here you will not be disappointed. However, the trout was slightly underdone so it did not lift easily off the bones and the vegetables was a small portion of tinned peas and carrots. The veg still tasted of tinned vegetables, having not been rinsed that well and the peas were really mushy having been cooked a bit too long in the reheating. It is not difficult to cook up some fresh vegetables, especially if you advertise an "a la carte" menu item as being served with vegetables, and if you don't have the space to store it then even frozen peas would have tasted and looked better than tinned.

All in all a disappointment, especially given the Lake District price-tag of £11 or £12 for this particular dish. And despite everyone else's dinners being hearty in size, mine left me still feeling quite hungry.

Our other gripe was that they did not accept cards. This used to be fine but is now quite unusual and very few people carry lots of cash on them. However, it is ok if you are expecting it so just make sure you go prepared!

In general this is a great place to go if you stick to reliable pub food and beer and turn up with cash in hand. However, avoid if you want something a bit different for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

lovely character pub with really friendly bar staff.if it weren't for the young girl that served us last tuesday evening this review would be worse. could be so much better if the food on offer wasn't such a lazy cop out. £15 for frozen chips, tinned veg and a tasteless steak with some horrible boil in the bag pepper sauce thrown over the top is not on when other pubs can manage freshly cooked for half the price. Won't bother again!

Room Tip: didn't stay there just went in for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemanchester1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Wide range of beers, seemed reasonably priced to my southerner's eyes. Not kept to perfection, though drinkable. Really friendly atmosphere, though that is down to the locals rather than the bar staff. Pretty much everybody here has a dog, so I would not recommend if you are allergic or phobic, but it adds to the atmosphere for everybody else.

Food is rather unexciting pub grub. Large portions but frozen veg etc. Good for building up calories for a long walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collideorscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Nice pub with plenty of room compared to some in the Lakes. The ales are pretty much standard for the Lakes Robinsons & Jennings no smaller breweries. Hit and miss on the quality of the pulled ale pints, the lager was £5.50 for a pint an half of cheap Carling or Carlsberg I forget which I thought expensive.

We didn't eat here but I still want one of them Jumbo mixed grills, the food did look nice if not limited menu.

We were attracted to the place on a Saturday for the live music left by some of the reviews, not really our thing as we thought it might have been more towards folk music so popped to the Rule for a quite one.

We noticed it isn't open during the day through the week, we tried to pop in post fell walking. Overall pretty much an average Lakeland pub.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duderoo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Log House
The Log House
#59 of 103 in Ambleside
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Inn
The Churchill Inn
#78 of 103 in Ambleside
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,174 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#1 of 103 in Ambleside
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: North Road, Ambleside LA22 9DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Ambleside
The Unicorn Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing