We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice traditional pub”
Review of The Unicorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unicorn Inn
Ranked #70 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice traditional pub”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Unicorn is a pleasant traditional pub. It's a little dark on the inside but that's to be expected from this style of pub. There is a reasonable selection of drinks and a good choice of nice ales. We didn't have food but a couple near to us did and it looked very nice - traditional pub grub. The staff were pleasant and friendly. It's a little off the main road through Ambleside but the road is well lit and it isn't difficult to find.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    37
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only went to the Unicorn for a meal, as we fancied pub grub and it looked cosy and friendly. We ordered "safe" choice. . . fish and chips. It was fine. The bar staff were also great - friendly and helpful - and the beer was excellent. The problem was that the only tables left were through to the back, close to the kitchen door, which was permanently wedged open, allowing us: to hear the (very) loud and often colourful conversation of the kitchen staff; to smell the fat frying; to feel the icy blast of the OUTSIDE door which was also left open beyond the kitchen door despite my polite entreaties for it to be closed. The tattoed, pierced female kitchen staff was not a person I wished to pick a fight with, so I did not ask more than once! We ate and swiftly left, never to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan0553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in Ambleside for 3 days, couldn't stay at the pub. While it's very dog friendly in the bar, the B'n'B is not.
The Staff were all very helpful & chatty, the Landlady was lovely, she comes from our home town.
Mike Mead, the entertainment, was a scream. The atmosphere was warm & welcoming.
We did visit the other pubs in the town, but had to come back to the Unicorn.
We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Having stayed at the unicorn inn last night I thought id share my experience..... on arrival went to the barbto collect keys, we were a large party of 11 and booked every room, the dark haired girl that attended to us was unhelpful and didn't even crack a smile, we had booked the rooms for a suprise night away for a family members 40th birthday who hadn no idea about us all being there, I politely let the girl no about the situation and asked her not to give anything away regarding us being there to which she agreed, we then went to our rooms which where clean and tidy, typical bnb in the lakes very comfy beds. When my brother arrived (we where all waiting eagerly in his bedroom to suprise ) he went to the bar to collect the keys with his wife to which this bar made rudely said its cash payment all the rest of your party have paid for their rooms!! Giving away the suprise and was again miserable with him, having previously read the reviews I had actually told her twice about the suprise. here there are previous comments about this girl and her lack of customer service skills, she dampened our experience in this pub and should not work in anywhere public. The owners are nice and helpful its just a shame.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chanane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for one night in September. After some great weather walking. The pub is quite traditional but tied to Robinsons, so if you don't like their ale, you best go round the corner to the Golden Rule. The bedroom was very low ceilinged with a big beam over the bed at about 5'10" and there was not a lot of room. Bad TV reception, if that bothers you. Not us. Not particularly noisy. Dated decor but wearm and clean. Electric shower, so no chance of hot water running out. Limited parking opportunities. Godd breakfast and nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the unicorn pub back in July 2013 after a long day on the hills this place was the perfect atmosphere to hang up that coat and wash down that classic pub grub with some really nice ales, staff were really welcoming and helped us with some great hot stops to visit around the village.
Would highly recommend to all who are looking for that traditional Lake District feel with good company great food and beer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
170 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We popped in the Unicorn a couple of times for a beer during our visit, do note they are not open during the day through the week. The ale isn’t particularly well served and the staff not really friendly or chatty and if you fancy a pint of lager you are hit in the pocket.

On a previous visit a family member mentioned the ales to be flat, we didn't return them and just left at that point, this time though on the first visit the ales where a decent pint but they went downhill and I switched to lager, what a mistake £3.95 for a pint of Carling, I moaned last time at paying £3.50 in Nov 2012 and should have remembered this but this is a joke, especially when ales are less than £3 a pint!! I had to question the barmaid and without discrimination or shame told me the price, I thought they might have poured me some decent European lager by mistake but not Carling or I had walked into a well furbished bar in a city with smiling staff, anyway that’s enough moaning.

Maybe not then, on our last visit the place was a quarter full at about 7pm and we noticed some locals or student girls sat on one table but were covering two tables with coats and the likes and on the only free randomly spaced tables at the top end of the pub were reserved signs covering 3 tables, this totally destroyed any atmosphere in there, we were forced down into the bottom part looking into the grotty kitchen with Chef Mike and stinking toilets.

Deffo not one to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duderoo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Log House
The Log House
#68 of 103 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Churchill Inn
The Churchill Inn
#77 of 103 in Ambleside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#37 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Inn

Property: The Unicorn Inn
Address: North Road, Ambleside LA22 9DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Ambleside
The Unicorn Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing