We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year”
Review of Randy Pike

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Randy Pike
Ranked #47 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New Year”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over New Year. Lovely quite spot with amazing rooms. Owners are good fun and have a great attitude towards guests a bit like being at home with somebody else doing the cooking and cleaning.

Great bathroom and lovly walkes just outside the hotel.

New Year Eve we went to the Owners Jungle Room in Grassmere FANTASTIC drove us there and back great food and drinks.

The whole of Grassmere was light up with fireworks on the stroke of Midnight which gave a great warmth! Harry the dog loved it and was made to feel very welcome so take your pet.

Room Tip: Enjoy.... Need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
133
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This quirky little find is the best place to stay in the lakes district. The setting is beautiful, the rooms fabulous, the welcome warm and the food fantastic. The bed is so comfortable especially after a long day walking. I will certainly be back. The food at the Jumble room is not to be missed either.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect place for our 2 year anniversary. Gorgeous room, friendly hosts and the most comfortable bed ever. Breakfast is served in the room so eating it in a dressing gown is the ultimate decadence. The host running us to and from the restaurant was a great touch too

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liz78cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place is really special. And I mean really special. Such great taste in decor, in music taste, in breakfast choice, in setting. As everyone else says, the family/owners and the service are first rate. You made a terrific end to our honeymoon - and we will be back. A very genuine thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Believe everything you read and see about the faultless Randy Pike! I booked two nights here as a surprise for my husband's 40th birthday and had spent the months leading up to our stay anticipating whether it could really be as fab as the reviews say.....it absolutely is! And more!
From the big, important stuff like the wonderfully warm welcome, the gorgeous views and the totally relaxing ambience (thanks, in part, to the eclectic selection of music on the iPod) to the smallest, beautiful details like the Neom candles, sweet teaspoons and fresh flowers, the Randy Pike is fabulous on every level.
We felt totally pampered (the nickel bath in the Dawson suite - wow!) and cannot wait to return. You will love the Randy Pike.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kron100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and we were very impressed. The room was amazing and the breakfasts are made to order - delicious! Fantastic setting with easy access to other areas of the lake. Do try their own restaurant as the food is great.

We will be going back soon to try other room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Just had the most amazingly fab weekend at Randy Pike. Everything about this place is awesome...the breakfast, the room, the bath (what a bath!), the four legged friends (too cute!), the setting and last but by no means least the hosts - what a genuinely lovely family. This is up there as one of the best places we have stayed both in the UK and abroad. Thanks guys for a lovely weekend....it was so nice we have already booked for this summer and my mums 70th next year! :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresWithGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.2 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#4 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.6 mi away
Broadoaks Country House
Broadoaks Country House
#1 of 4 in Troutbeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.9 mi away
High Wray Farm
High Wray Farm
#39 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randy Pike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randy Pike

Property: Randy Pike
Address: Outgate, Ambleside LA22 0JP , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Randy Pike is our home on the outskirts of Ambleside in the heart of the English Lake District. Once a Gentleman’s Hunting lodge on the Wray castle Estate we have just recently returned it to its former glory... Randy Pike is Lakeland's sexiest new bed and breakfast, and yet B and B is it truly in its very simplest form, the suites are large and luxurious that have kept the character and feeling of that iconic neo-gothic era and yet marry perfectly with the all the modern facilities you'd expect with Vi-sprung beds, cloaked in the very best frette line and plump crisp pillows, there's a flat screen tv, i-pod dock, tea and fresh coffee. The Showers are the size of a small country, warm, funky and sexy... there's truly nothing out there like them. Andy and Chrissy Hill ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Randy Pike Hotel Ambleside
Randy Pike Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing