We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bakery and pies in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Apple Pie

The Apple Pie
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Soups, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are independent craft bakers with a cafe and rooms. Established in 1975 we are a family business situated in the heart of Ambleside serving hearty breakfasts, delicious espresso based coffees, wholesome lunches and indulgent afternoon teas as well as all the esentials for a packed lunch on the fells or by the lake. Everything baked on site daily. We use locally sourced ingredients where possible - local butcher & milkman and free range eggs as well as flour from a Cumbrian miller and tea from Farrers in Kendal. Our best sellers are Apple Pie (spiced or plain) and bath buns.'Baking at its best in Lakeland'
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Best bakery and pies in town”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Loved it. This looks like a standard bakery but inside it is a gem of a place with outdoor seating too. Lovely homemade pies. The bakery is amazing. I can understand why the queue builds up - popular place!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mi-MiMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Wow thank you for your lovely words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    550
    155
    66
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely atmosphere, great apple pie!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We popped in here on a Saturday afternoon for coffee and a cake and found it to be really busy and had a great atmosphere.
We shared a portion of the famous apple pie and a jam and cream scone.
The apple pie really was delicious, the best we'd tasted for a long time. It's reputation is definitely well deserved!
The scone was also really tasty, but I was slightly disappointed it wasn't served with clotted cream - that would have been perfect!
All in all a really lovely cafe and the other meals coming out looked delicious too, the bakery at the front was lovely and had some amazing looking cakes and pies.
My only criticism would be that the toilets were extremely foul smelling and neither had toilet roll in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank holly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleamble, Owner at The Apple Pie, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the many kind and complimentary things you say. I thank you also for mentioning that on your visit that the toilets were not as you would have wished and on top of that no toilet paper. We are taking steps to check the toilets on a regular basis from now on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best Apple Pie... Lovely bakery..”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Many years ago when I lived in Ambleside, the Apple Pie bakery was our staple shop, especially for tasty treats to fuel mountain walks. The Bath Buns and Chorley Cakes still to die for. However, this time I was just passing through during weekend break. We had a pot of tea, apple pie and cream. Lovely, light pastry.. Sweet thick apple layer.. Delicious.. Staff friendly, if a bit disorganised.. But on holiday, so why care!! Enjoy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“apple pie”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

the loveliest applie pie ever, lovely setting, staff very polite, what more can I say. Many other cakes were available, I just love applie pie

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marmee095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and cakes!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We always pop over for lunch when we're in the lakes- take away or sit in (if its raining!) and never been disappointed!
I had the spicy chicken sandwich on a white roll! Iove their salad choices. Everything's always v fresh!

Would absolutely recommend! We usually stop here before a walk and pop out sandwiches in our rucksacks for a nice lunch on the hill!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apple Pie also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing