We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty pie and chips”
Review of The Apple Pie

The Apple Pie
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are independent craft bakers with a cafe and rooms. Established in 1975 we are a family business situated in the heart of Ambleside serving hearty breakfasts, delicious espresso based coffees, wholesome lunches and indulgent afternoon teas as well as all the esentials for a packed lunch on the fells or by the lake. Everything baked on site daily. We use locally sourced ingredients where possible - local butcher & milkman and free range eggs as well as flour from a Cumbrian miller and tea from Farrers in Kendal. Our best sellers are Apple Pie (spiced or plain) and bath buns.'Baking at its best in Lakeland'
Norwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty pie and chips”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch after a long walk, and found Apple Pie to be reassuringly busy. Their pies are delicious and can be eaten in or bought as takeaway.
We ate in and added a bowl of twice-cooked chips to share. Their own coffee blend was pretty good.
Apple Pie is open from 9am every day, does breakfast and takeaway rolls etc so I'm sure we'll be back.
They also have outdoor seating to the side.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    566
    160
    68
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Beautiful Baking and cosy cafe”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The selection of home baked pasties and buns is amazing. If the display of delights wasn't enough to get the taste buds excited, there are even videos showing behind the counter of the prep and baking process. We tucked into warm apple pie and the warm chocolate fudge cake. Both heavenly! We left with pasties which are perfection. Love this place. This was our 4th visit and many to come.....

Helpful?
Thank Mi-MiMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A wonderful Wensleydale cheese sandwich”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place does great coffee !
Take away sandwiches are excellent and the ginger bread they sell a complete must !
Will be returning for a flat white

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had to wait a while for a table but I am glad we did. We were just going to have tea and cake, but then ended up being tempted by the lovely lunch menu.
The bakery items looked amazing too but we were too full from lunch to enjoy any of them- now I wish we had bought some to take away!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MariaRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cafe and dog friendly too!!! ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I travelled from Lancashire to The Apple Pie Cafe purely as it was a dog-friendly Cafe. We visited during the bank holiday weekend and it was really busy but the service and quality was not affected at all.
There were several dogs around the seated area and it didn't cause any issues or problems. The food was fabulous and very fresh. The staff were very attentive which was refreshing to experience.
We had main courses, desserts and coffee but the bill wasn't overpriced so all-in-all this is a cafe I would recommend wholeheartedly, *especially if you have a four legged friend!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank ourkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apple Pie also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing