We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Larger than you think”
Review of The Apple Pie

The Apple Pie
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We are independent craft bakers with a cafe and rooms. Established in 1975 we are a family business situated in the heart of Ambleside serving hearty breakfasts, delicious espresso based coffees, wholesome lunches and indulgent afternoon teas as well as all the esentials for a packed lunch on the fells or by the lake. Everything baked on site daily. We use locally sourced ingredients where possible - local butcher & milkman and free range eggs as well as flour from a Cumbrian miller and tea from Farrers in Kendal. Our best sellers are Apple Pie (spiced or plain) and bath buns.'Baking at its best in Lakeland'
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Larger than you think”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We went into this cafe for drink and could not believe the size of the place it was very big. There were lovely smells of freshly prepared food and coffee. Staff were friendly. They had a cracking front shop with the best looking bakery products. We will definately be returning there next time. Very pleasant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    566
    160
    68
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This morning I wandered about town and found The Apple Pie. What a deceptively large place it is. Very comfortable and relaxing with a courtyard or interior seating. It was very popular, and just having to pass through the bakery and walk past all of the cakes and pastries was temptation enough. The staff were attentive and pleasant and helpful. I had a toasted Brie ciabatta and side salad with a cup of Earl Grey tea. So very relaxing and tasty. Set me right for the day. Would heartily recommend, and will return tomorrow for breakfast again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim186575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Cafe!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have been visiting Ambleside for years and I had never set food in this place until this year and I wish I had visited before! From the outside it looks like a small shop and cafe until you walk inside and realise there is a big spacious cafe at the back. We had tea, sandwiches and the famous apple pie after a long morning of walking in the cold and it was all delicious! The service was quick and friendly and a very relaxed family atmosphere! The apple pie is a must which we opted to be warmed on such a cold day and a perfect end to our lunch. We loved it so much that on the last day we couldn't resist buying one from the shop to take home. A fantastic spot for an informal lunch and we will sure to visit again the next time we are in Ambleside!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aniglen321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

After a day walking the beautiful fells, it was lovely to sit back in this little cafe and enjoy a well deserved treat. The apple pie is amazing and well worth a try. We also enjoyed some of their freshly prepared sandwiches to order as take away to enjoy at the summit on our walks.

Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MStravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having looked at various places in Ambleside for a bite of lunch before leaving for home we definitely made a good choice. We were shown to a spacious table for our party of five and were well looked after by our waiter Ross.There was a great choice on the menu however 4 of us opted for the Steak and caramelised onion sandwich and my husband chose the home made Cheese and potato pie and we shared a big bowl of twice fried chips. Even though busy the service was attentive and prompt. The decor inside was very relaxing and welcoming and also there were tables outside for those who wanted to enjoy the sunny weather. We visit Ambleside 2 to 3 times a year and will definitely be back to The Apple Pie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apple Pie also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to The Apple Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing