We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dodds Restaurant

Dodds Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Prior to visiting Ambleside I reviewed a few places to eat and over the week we have experience a few. Dodd's was superb and well worth it high rating!

Family of four had not pre booked but arrived early which was wise decision as restaurant filled quite quickly. Staff were welcoming and attentive, drinks ordered straight away and food order taken within 15 mins, extensive choice from menu and specials menu for the evening. Atmosphere was warm and friendly and very one enjoyed their food of choice.

Starters, mains , 2 adults with alcoholic drinks and 2 non alcoholic, liqueur coffees to finish £97. To us excellent value for our family meal.

Would recommend Dodd's but if you want to eat round 7pm would advice booking first.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,380
    527
    144
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrivenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in ambleside for 4 nights and ate at dodds twice. It came as a recommendation by our B&B host. The staff are excellent and work very hard. Fantastic food. Do not be put off when the waitress says it's a 20 minute wait (you cannot book). We were seated within 10 minutes both times and just enjoyed a drink at the bar whilst looking at the menu. Advise: don't leave and just wait for a table, it's worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a great meal here last week. Food was very well presented and service extremely efficient. I don't normally eat pizzas but we had heard that they were particularly good and mine didn't disappoint. A busy restaurant with a good atmosphere. Would
certainly return should we be in the Lake District again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved decor ambiance of the place. Great food good service. Reasonably priced would definitely return

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DAWN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester,england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The restaurant doesn't taker bookings so you may need to wait for a table when it's busy. We visited on a Saturday night and only had to wait ten minutes. There is a steady stream of people waiting at the bar and people leaving to make room. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The food was delicious with plenty of choice, including a specials board. Last food orders are 9:00pm but we weren't hurried at all at the end of the meal. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dodds Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Dodds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing