We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited twice as so nice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dodds Restaurant

Dodds Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Visited twice as so nice !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Delicious food, pizza, meat balls for kids, was lovely, great value for money, will defiantly go again when in Ambleside

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 81Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,378
    527
    144
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Smart restaurant with a vibrant, bustling atmosphere, excellent service and quality of food, I went for the rib eye which was one of the best I've had but was also tempted to try their seafood linguini - will have to try that next time :-)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Lively atmosphere in this small restaurant. Food is well presented and superbly cooked. You can not book, and if you go late be prepared to wait. It is always busy. Drinks and nibbles are served at the bar if you manage to get a seat to wait there but at busy times there is often a line out the door.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reasons T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty and comforting food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had to wait about 25 minutes for a table - but we were happy to have a drink at the bar. But once we were seated and we had ordered, the food came out really quickly. The food was really tasty. I had a fabulous lasagne - really tasty; whilst my husband had pizza which was stacked with toppings. The staff are friendly and move quickly! Definitely recommended after a day of walking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Found this restaurant by chance during a recent short break. Although we had to queue for a table this was no hardship as we had time to have a drink and look at menu. For starter had tea smoked duck with figs and citrus - fabulous. Lasagne was great but the piece de resistance was definitely the dessert. We had the pannacotta with figs, chopped pistachios and 3 big chunks of cinder toffee (puff candy). It was fantastic. The service was good with very friendly cheerful staff even though they were rushed off their feet. £43 for 2 of us for 3 course meal and drinks very reasonable. Well worth a visit if you are in Ambleside/Bowness/Windermere area

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dodds Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Dodds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing