We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love love this place!!!”
Review of Dodds Restaurant

Dodds Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancashire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Love love love this place!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We came in on a busy bank holiday Monday evening.

A queue to eat soon came about and was swiftly gone with the superb waiter and waitresses working.

Even though it was busy they were so attentive and very polite.

Food. Well the food was gorgeous!!! I ordered chicken pasta and hubby ordered goats cheese pizza and we shared a cheesey garlic bread. The food was so tasty and delicious!

The garlic bread with cheese actually tasted so nice of garlic!! Not greased. None of the food was greasey.

It's a shame they can not increase the size of this restaurant as it's such a brilliant place and one we will definitely go to in the future.

Hats off to the staff; front of house and behind the scenes too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GemH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,397
    531
    146
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We walked in and were told there would be a 20 minute wait, infact it was only 10 minutes. Staff were very good, helpful and attentive. I had a Diavolo Pizza and I have to say it was fantastic, my wife is Italian so I know when a Pizza is exceptional and this really was.
Apparenty there are no bookings just walk in , but im not sure about this.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyreman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Moreish”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed in |Ambleside for two nights and we don't like to do this normally but we ate here twice! It was just very delicious Italian food

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank alicemiranda86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenny's Day Out
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

On a day out to Ambleside we arrived just as the restaurant opened at 5 pm and being first in were not sure what to expect. The staff were really friendly and attentive. A couple of other families arrived soon after us and when our food arrived we knew it couldn't be long before the place filled up - 30 minutes later the place was full and buzzing with lots of lovely meals coming out). Pizzas were excellent as was the Rib Eye followed by tasty dessert (to share as we were so full. We were not rushed even though people were now waiting at the bar and outside and so had a lovely relaxed meal. Excellent food, not expensive, will definitely go again - thank you .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennisisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Food was amazing and the service was great! Thoroughly enjoyed our meal! Would recommend! Thank you!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dodds Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Dodds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing