We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property with a gem of an owner...”
Review of High Wray Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Wray Farm
Ranked #35 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed here for the weekend earlier in the year with my husband and two children (age 11 and 14) The rooms are beautiful; cosy and immaculately clean. The beds were very comfy and were dressed with the best smelling linens I have slept in. Sheila- the owner- was really friendly, offering advice on the local area (and great cake!) without being too intrusive.
The choice of breakfast was really extensive - far more than you would expect from a small B and B. Food was well cooked and thoughtfullly presented.
Keep doing what you're doing because you're getting it right.
Thank you - we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoHCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for High Wray Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here for one night last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We were welcomed with tea and cakes and made to feel very at home, our little boy was very impressed with Sheilas cat pippin and would have stayed in the B&B all day!
Our room was Claife as was very comfortable. We had everything we needed and as someone had said there was a fridge with fresh milk and cafetieres for fresh coffee, which was great.
Breakfast was lovely although we would have preferred it earlier than 830am but that's just cause we're very early risers. My son enjoyed his sausages and i had more or less a full english. Fresh bread was out for you to toast with plenty of cereals and jams and marmalades.
We stayed as a family and have a fairly boisturous 7yr old. With the property being old it is obviously creaky and with the upstairs being fairly cosy and compact we felt we had to be very quiet to respect other guests. Plus, and i know you don't go on holiday to watch TV but we find it's always a must with a 7yr old so not having one in the room was a slight disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at High Wray farm for a couple of nights and were made to feel very welcome. Sheila brought us tea and cakes on our arrival and we felt at home, just sitting by the woodburner, relaxing. There are some nice walks straight from the door of the farm and many of the Lakes' attractions are just a short drive away. The property oozes charm and history and was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was perfect and included fresh fruit salad, cereals, toast and cooked breakfast (including a daily 'special'). A nice extra touch was a fridge at the top of the stairs where guests could store their own food or soft drinks could be purchased from it.
We would definitely choose to stay at High Wray farm again on a walking / sightseeing weekend in the Lakes. This would also be a great place for Beatrix Potter fans to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WessexFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

If your ideal b & b is a seventeenth century farmhouse in a beautiful location, this is for you. High Wray Farm is comfortable, full of charm and character, and very welcoming.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We only had one lovely night here and wished we'd been able to stay longer. We were welcomed by Sheila and a lovely cafetiere of coffee and the most gorgeous lemon drizzle cake. What a wonderful start! Our room was beautiful, decorated in cream and pale teal and immaculately clean with a lovely comfortable bed. The accommodation is superb and has everything you would need for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was excellent; cereals, porridge, fresh fruit, yoghurts and toast as well as a full English (or you could opt for the daily special available each morning). The farmhouse is set in beautiful surroundings and is thoroughly recommended! You must go!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-AM1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Had one lovely night here. Arrived tired but Sheila welcomed us with a lovely cup of tea and gorgeous lemon drizzle cake what a reviver. The room was lovely with everything you would need for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was superb a nice little touch was the provision of a special on offer (smoked salmon/muffins on our morning) each day. The farmhouse is set in beautiful surroundings, our room had the most lovely views. It is a very old farmhouse but has all the mod-cons required and is thoroughly recommended, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I am a little reluctant to say how lovely this B&B is in case we find it is always booked up!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Farm and can only heap praise on Sheila for providing such a great place to stay in such a fabulous location. Our room was spotless, beautiful and so peaceful. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and it made a nice change to have a daily special to choose from.
On our arrival Sheila provided tea and homemade lemon drizzlecake which was delicious and which set us up for a glorious walk right from the doorstep.
If looking for a perfect B&B near Hawskhead look no further - this is it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesLarkrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.5 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
556 reviews
2.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#7 of 103 in Ambleside
566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Slack Cottage
Slack Cottage
#37 of 103 in Ambleside
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
245 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
631 reviews
2.8 mi away
West Vale Country House
West Vale Country House
#53 of 103 in Ambleside
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Wray Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Wray Farm

Address: High Wray, Ambleside LA22 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Wray Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Wray farm lies amid the rolling hills above the quiet western shores of Lake Windermere, from here you can stroll along the quiet lanes and explore the beautiful lake shore paths, This charming National trust property has many original features dating back to 1628, Our pretty bedrooms are comfortable warm and cosy, a friendly welcome awaits those seeking comfortable accommodation set amid beautiful Lakeland scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Wray Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Wray Farm Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing