We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of High Wray Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Wray Farm
Ranked #36 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed last night as an anniversary treat and I couldn't fault our stay. Sheila greeted us with a smile, tea and delicious cake. We sat in the garden enjoying the rare Lakeland sunshine. Our room was tastefully decorated, quaint and immacuately clean. Little extras made it special..homemade shortbread, a fridge with fresh milk, cold drinks and space to chill my wine!! Breakfast was delicious and the use of local preserves and condiments was a nice touch. Home from home and even Pippin the cat ready for a fuss! Thank you Sheila!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for High Wray Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I were given an overnight stay by my brother and sister in law as a wedding present. We left the children at home with them (also part of the present)
and enjoyed a lovely peaceful day and night on our own. The place is heavenly, so peaceful. Sheila is a great host and the house is beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great and set us up for the day. If ever we can 'ditch the kids' we will be back. Thank you again Chris and Sheila.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in the farmhouse on a bed and breakfast basis, we found it an idyllic place to stay, loved it. We had a very warm welcome from Sheila who greeted us with her delicious homemade cake and a lovely pot of tea. We had a lovely choice for breakfast and chose smoked salmon and scrambled eggs - delicious. The farm is well placed for Ambleside and Hawkeshead and a great location for those who like walking. We stayed at the farm for one night on a return trip from Scotland, but will return for longer and use as a base for the lovely country walks. We found the farm to be ideally located, particularly for Hawkeshead where there were lovely eating places for evening meals, which were reasonably priced. Would most certainly recommend High Wray Farm. Will return as soon as we get some free time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_PNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I felt so at home when we stayed at High Wray. We stayed as bed and breakfast guests in the main house. Sheila and Chris were very welcoming and the house is a wonderful cosy, warm haven at the end of a long drive or a walk up a fell. The beds are extremely comfortable and the breakfast is fantastic. The house is 17th century and has some lovely original features. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and High Wray definitely rates as the best. The location is great for walkers and is close to Hill Top, Ambleside and a great base to explore the Lake District.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starvedfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here last weekend for one night and we loved it. Nice welcome of tea and home made cake. Cat Pipin also very nice, sleeping by hearth. Lovely stay. Breakfast amazing as well!
Definitely would recommend, perfect location for Ambleside or Hawkshead. Very homely and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenkcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

High Wray was even better than we had expected. Sheila and Chris were welcoming and helpful, with delicious cake and tea every afternoon and top-notch breakfasts. The location is terrific, with none of the Lake District crowds while only 5 minutes from either Ambleside or Hawkshead. As a secluded farm between Latterbarrow and Lake Windemere, there are several excellent walks literally leaving from the front door (Latterbarrow above, the Tarn below). Hawkshead has several decent pubs - the Queens Head in particular - so there is no shortage of places to eat. All of which was enhanced by Pippin the house cat ... Such a great break!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jutain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

If you're looking for a minimalist, glass and chrome, featureless 21st century boutique hotel with little comfort and poor service then this may not be the place for you. However, if you're looking for charm, character, warmth, comfort, great service and scrumptious cakes (especially the Weetabix tea-bread) and breakfasts, then you've come to the right place. You will feel at home at High Wray Farm as soon as you are warmly greeted on your arrival, and that feeling of welcome and well-being will remain with you long after you regretfully make your farewells. Being a farm, you will, of course, require transport, but the location is beautiful and peaceful, with only the occasional bleating lamb or clucking hen to break the silence. Sheila (the owner) is delightful, and she ensures that all her guests are well taken care of, but at the same time she ensures that they also receive as much privacy as the wish. This is sometimes a difficult balance for a host to achieve, but Sheila is clearly mastered the art. Due to repeat business, this farm is often full, but it is worth making the effort of trying to find an available date, as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.5 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
566 reviews
2.1 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 23 in Hawkshead
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Slack Cottage
Slack Cottage
#37 of 103 in Ambleside
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#54 of 103 in Ambleside
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#9 of 103 in Ambleside
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Wray Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Wray Farm

Address: High Wray, Ambleside LA22 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: £81 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — High Wray Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Wray farm lies amid the rolling hills above the quiet western shores of Lake Windermere, from here you can stroll along the quiet lanes and explore the beautiful lake shore paths, This charming National trust property has many original features dating back to 1628, Our pretty bedrooms are comfortable warm and cosy, a friendly welcome awaits those seeking comfortable accommodation set amid beautiful Lakeland scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Wray Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Wray Farm Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing