We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant accommodation in mystical surroundings”
Review of Pullwood Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pullwood Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation in mystical surroundings”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We decided to stay here from Friday 28th September to Monday 1st October for a short three night stay. We stayed in a self catering lakeside apartment (Fairfield) which was situated at the front of the building on the first floor. The apartment has bedrooms in the 1st and 2nd floors with 2 bedrooms (as 2 doubles or 1 double and 1 twin), with two large ensuite including bath and POWER shower ther is also an open-plan kitchen, living and dining rooms and views over Pullwood Bay's woodland gardens.

When we arrived is was late Friday night and there was no staff inside the main building at all and we had to collect our room key from a box that was left on the doorstep; I wasn't sure about the idea as anyone could of taken the other keys that were in their and just let themselves in. Anyway we entered the building which had a small public area near the now closed office with a stand of leaflets which was helpful as we got some good ideas of where to travel too. Our apartment was on the 1st floor so we had to climb this large and extravagant staircase which brought the authentic feeling of the property to life. Everywhere was really clean. But there was a lack of service for example no bar which would of been handy after a long day. The apartment was like a house it had two floors upstairs was a bedroom and bathroom which had a power shower and surround sound system so you could listen to the radio whilst having a bath. The 1st floor had another bedroom with two singles and a smaller bathroom also a dining area and kitchen with all the latest modern utensils; this was open plan with the living room.

The apartment building is surrounded by gardens and forestry which added to a mystical feeling, the front of the building overlooked the lake which also had a jetti which you could use to go swimming if you wanted. The area was silent for the whole time we was there and made us feel a bit uneasy to to our remoteness from the outside world. The staff were friendly and they were always cleaning but was willing to talk whenever you acknowledged them. We had a brilliant time here and we loved it from beginning to end we felt the price was a little steep for self catering but besides that we had a brilliant time. Pullywood bay 8/10!!!!!!!

TIP: if your a coronation street fan you'll be pleased to know they filmed Gail and joes holiday scene in one of the lake side apartments and when he tried to fake his own death that two was filmed on the lake itself!!!! We had a walk down to that lodge and that too looked stunning, lucky Gail and joe :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
51
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We've stayed in three of the apartments at Pullwood. We loved them so much we have actually bought one! The views are fantastic as are the walks within the estate. We often see deer as well as a lot of other wildlife. Apartments are very clean and well furnished, the view from Great Gable is just fantastic! You can see Ambleside across lake Windermere. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend Great Gable, but I am a bit biased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdowellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very well presented cottage with every comfort situated in a stunning spot in Ambleside. Loads of local footpaths to walk with good pubs in the vicinity to avoid taking the car out. Outstanding views of Windermere. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank wirraly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddulph, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from a fantastic week, staying in Bowfell apartment. If it's peace and tranquility you're looking for then this place is hard to beat and the views from the apartment across Lake Windermere are truly stunning. We were very lucky with the weather and this enabled us to explore the local countryside - we walked everywhere and only drove into Ambleside at night to enjoy an evening meal. The property is about 2 miles outside Ambleside (plus a half mile once you turn on to Pullwood Estate to the main house where the apartments are located) but there are safe pathways adjacent to the road for walkers to use for the majority of the way. Would recommend 'The Drunken Duck' pub which is about half a mile from the Pullwood estate. Overall, would love to return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Book an apartment with a lake view - it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our first ever trip to the Lakes and after a long but comfortable journey, we rounded the corner to see Pullwood Bay set against the back drop of Lake Windermere and the mountains. It was beautiful! And having located our apartment, this did not fail to impress either. It was light, bright and clean, with well laid out rooms. Again the views were amazing.
Pullwood Bay is in a great location and from here we were easily able to explore the local towns as well as embark on several long walks - directions provided in the apartments.
We have noted several comments about the internet - we found it to be acceptable (but we didn't expect it to be super efficient and anyway came for a break from that!)
All in all a fantastic trip and one we will be repeating - again staying at Pullwood bay.

Room Tip: We travelled with our teenage daughter and rented Skiddaw. This is a top floor 2 bedroom apartment w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canbera, A.C.T.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had a week at Pullwood Bay, in Loughrigg, the week before Christmas. What a view - mountains and lake - and towards the end of our stay a dusting of snow to make it even more stunning! The apartment was clean, light, very spacious and modern with excellent kitchen facilities. The only negative was that the lounge chairs were not very comfortable for any length of time. Just remembered one more negative - the internet was pathetic! I loved that you could have the radio on and have it piped into all the rooms.

Room Tip: Loughrigg is in prime position for a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelKings49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in Wetherlam - an incredible apartment. Extremely comfortable and very well kitted out (great kitchen, sound system in every room, under floor heating... the list goes on!) Beautiful location too - very well worth a visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullwood Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullwood Bay

Property: Pullwood Bay
Address: Pull Woods, Ambleside LA22 0HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pullwood Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullwood Bay ... superb self-catering accommodation to suit everyone, whether you are looking for a fabulous lakeside family hideaway, luxury 5-star lakeside apartments , or picturesque woodland cottages. Once you have experienced the delights that we have to offer, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pullwood Bay Hotel Ambleside
Pullwood Bay Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing