We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic tasting food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice of Bengal

Spice of Bengal
Ranked #91 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: US$9 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Fusion, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The newly refurbished Spice of Bengal is a family run Indian restaurant and takeaway providing exciting and exotic fine Indian cuisine in the heart of scenic Ambleside. In 1986 our late father opened the Passage of India in Keswick, one of the first Indian restaurants in the lake district. A decade later we opened the Spice of Bengal in 1994 and we have continued his commitment to quality cuisine based on our Bangladeshi heritage and giving outstanding customer service.All dishes are prepared with the utmost care in the Spice of Bengal kitchen, using only the finest fresh ingredients and our own special combination of spices. Just like our dishes, our newly refurbished restaurant fuses traditional with modern surroundings, giving a spacious, friendly dining environment.
newark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic tasting food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went here for my birthday meal Saturday 19th Oct. The best Indian food I have ever tried. I would definitely go back here. Excellent value too. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marielouNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    142
    96
    59
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Have eaten in many Indian restaurants over the years and this stands among the best. Was not expecting much from an Indian in the Lake District but this was absolutely delicious. Would definitely go again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cragguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We normally go to the restaurant everytime we come to Ambleside but after this evenings debacle it will be the last. We had three waiters trying to take our order and when our meals finally came out were bland. My wife ordered the chicken lemon special and got the lamb instead and then brought the bill to us before we had even asked for it. On the plus side the house red wine was surprisingly good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robsmileyiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Total shambles”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked a table for 8pm on Saturday 5th October. On arrival we were met with scenes of total chaos. People standing waiting for tables people waiting for their take aways. The restaurant was full no empty tables for the waiting customers that had booked. We were told a table would be available in ten minutes! We waited with the rest of the frustrated customers! Guess what no table & total shambolic staff so we left. I can't comment on the food as we obviously didn't eat there. Don't bother with this place unless you are queued at the door when they open as despite making a reservation they just accommodate on a first come first served basis. This restaurant is doomed to be yet another charity shop in the not to distant future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sutty_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Indian meal that we have had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Gave us a table on a Saturday evening without a reservation. Was all downhill from here, service very poor. Not too clean either. Forgot our drinks, had to ask 3 times then they were wrong.
Food very average and chicken tikka masala was like chicken in ketchup! Awful. Chips were just frozen and not home made which we would have liked.Took 30 mins for our starters to arrive then a further hour for the main meals.
Had to ask 3 times and wait 20 mins for the bill.
This was the only Indian restaurant in Ambleside, will definitely travel further afield next time

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judysulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice of Bengal also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Spice of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing