We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished restaurant”
Review of Spice of Bengal - CLOSED

Spice of Bengal
Price range: US$9 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The newly refurbished Spice of Bengal is a family run Indian restaurant and takeaway providing exciting and exotic fine Indian cuisine in the heart of scenic Ambleside. In 1986 our late father opened the Passage of India in Keswick, one of the first Indian restaurants in the lake district. A decade later we opened the Spice of Bengal in 1994 and we have continued his commitment to quality cuisine based on our Bangladeshi heritage and giving outstanding customer service.All dishes are prepared with the utmost care in the Spice of Bengal kitchen, using only the finest fresh ingredients and our own special combination of spices. Just like our dishes, our newly refurbished restaurant fuses traditional with modern surroundings, giving a spacious, friendly dining environment.
Reigate
Level Contributor
143 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Refurbished restaurant”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good Indian food and sensible prices. we eat here on a cold wet evening but restaurant had a good atmosphere to it. Will certainly go back next time we visit Ambleside

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rubymanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    143
    97
    59
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice food......”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Ate here last weekend as staying locally in ambleside. Nice tasty food only thing to let this place down was the service.....very slow! Busy when we arrived so did expect a bit of a wait but it became alot quieter once we had placed our order, but the service didn't improve.......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G-M_Bradley-Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting food”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Never ate here before thought i would give it a try I ordered a chicken korma it was so bland no Taste at all! Ordered keema nan the nan was plain! the food is plain, no taste at all! I'm sure you can't go wrong when cooking Indian food! Don't know how they make business! Also the chips tasted like warm ups been left all day and were thin French fries what the hell happened to thick chips u get from an Indians! Will nt order food from there again

Helpful?
Thank CarleySmith504187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ok nothing special”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Visited for a takeaway. Order processed quickly and didn't have long to wait. Price and quality ok, but no different from many others I've visited. Would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic tasting food.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We went here for my birthday meal Saturday 19th Oct. The best Indian food I have ever tried. I would definitely go back here. Excellent value too. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marielouNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice of Bengal also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing