We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diabolical service, poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice of Bengal

Spice of Bengal
Ranked #91 of 116 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: US$9 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Fusion, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The newly refurbished Spice of Bengal is a family run Indian restaurant and takeaway providing exciting and exotic fine Indian cuisine in the heart of scenic Ambleside. In 1986 our late father opened the Passage of India in Keswick, one of the first Indian restaurants in the lake district. A decade later we opened the Spice of Bengal in 1994 and we have continued his commitment to quality cuisine based on our Bangladeshi heritage and giving outstanding customer service.All dishes are prepared with the utmost care in the Spice of Bengal kitchen, using only the finest fresh ingredients and our own special combination of spices. Just like our dishes, our newly refurbished restaurant fuses traditional with modern surroundings, giving a spacious, friendly dining environment.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Diabolical service, poor food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We waited between 45 - 60 minutes for our starters. Two other tables beside us were served in approximately 15 minutes so the waiters' excuse that they were understaffed and very busy was nonsense. No prior warning nor apologies for the time our meal took to arrive. The food was very bland and certainly not a curry that could be recommended. We did not stay for the main course.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    142
    96
    59
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bizarre restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our hotel recommended a restaurant in Ambleside, but we couldn't find it, so we picked this place as we both like Indian food. They advertise that they do their own take on Indian food and they weren't kidding. I ordered Chicken Tikka Missala and it didn't taste like any Tikka Missala I've ever had before. Not bad, but not great either. The place is oddly decorated in my opinion with colored 'neon'? lights. And the service is also odd. After we were promptly seated and given menus, no one ever came back. Finally my companion signaled to a man that had been hanging around that end of the restaurant, but didn't appear to be a waiter. His reaction was almost one of surprise that we wanted to place an order. He dug around in his pocket for a pencil and then had to go looking for something to write with. Perhaps it was the manager/owner. ? Either way it was obvious he was not prepared to take an order. A lot of people on here seem to like the place. Just not my cup of tea....or my tikka missala.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
140 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Refurbished restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good Indian food and sensible prices. we eat here on a cold wet evening but restaurant had a good atmosphere to it. Will certainly go back next time we visit Ambleside

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rubymanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice food......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Ate here last weekend as staying locally in ambleside. Nice tasty food only thing to let this place down was the service.....very slow! Busy when we arrived so did expect a bit of a wait but it became alot quieter once we had placed our order, but the service didn't improve.......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G-M_Bradley-Stoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Never ate here before thought i would give it a try I ordered a chicken korma it was so bland no Taste at all! Ordered keema nan the nan was plain! the food is plain, no taste at all! I'm sure you can't go wrong when cooking Indian food! Don't know how they make business! Also the chips tasted like warm ups been left all day and were thin French fries what the hell happened to thick chips u get from an Indians! Will nt order food from there again

Helpful?
Thank CarleySmith504187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice of Bengal also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Spice of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing