We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper cafe in Ambleside - a rarity now!”
Review of Bilbo's Cafe

Bilbo's Cafe
Ranked #49 of 121 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A proper cafe in Ambleside - a rarity now!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great food, service spot on and friendly, good atmosphere. The food arrived quickly, lots of banter and chat with other customers. Oh and Dale the bear liked it too. The only thing I'd like to improve on here is the strength of the coffee. Maybe an espresso machine?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Caff”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I've always steered away from the 'Costa's & other chain foord emporiums and well I guess "Old hobbits die hard".
The worlds a better place for places like this. really great food, nice ambience, really chilled out & dog friendly. Me & wor lass both had the food from the specials menu, give it a go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MacFarlane666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Bilbo's review”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Called at Bilbo's recently for a full english brekkie as our usual cafe was closed. The food was reasonable, we were disappointed to find that they had run out of sausages, but were told this would be replaced by extra bacon. The bacon was very salty, the mushrooms were only just cooked, and the hash brown was really greasy. The pint mug of tea was good though!

The staff were friendly, and the cafe had a nice cosy feel, although the tables weren't cleaned whilst we were there, and our table needed a good wipe down.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollymaid1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Langdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“the BEST cafe ever”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The best cafe ever !!We came in after a long day climbing, we were etreamly satisfied with the surice after a few minets we came out of our hunger crises and happly chatting away to the staff that are all extreamly fredly (and dont bite) !!! thank allot billbose :D ps sorry for the spelling

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The staff ate my breakfast!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

After ordering 2 of the full English breakfasts we sat and waited for a while..... After finishing the coffees we had ordered I looked at the clock to see that 45 mins had passed and still no breakfast....... The explanation we got was that it had been made but the other staff member had eaten it ?!*?! The lady was most apologetic about the mix up and knocked some money off our bill. Which was fair enough. What wasn't fair enough was having to wait another 20 mins for a breakfast which was served cold and below par (seeing the meat left on the side in the kitchen while she cooked the eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms was particularly distressing). This used to be a great breakfast option and used to be a favorite of mine, how sad it is that times do change!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diego_Davo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbos C, Manager at Bilbo's Cafe, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thankyou for your comments, we value our customers at Bilbo's and would like to think we are approachable enough for them to feedback at the time so we can rectify any problems right away.
Thankyou for scoring us highly on "value" and "atmosphere" despite your "distressing" experience.
On the morning you visited i can only apologise for the initial mis-communication between staff which led to the mix up.
You did receive money off your bill, which at the time seemed to meet with your satisfaction.
Having to wait the twenty minutes, which you claim, is unacceptable, no breakfast should go out cold. I apologise if this was the case.
As someone who has obviously visited Bilbo's before and had good experiences, i am sorry you feel "times have changed".
The staff working on that day have been valued members of the team for over two years and our breakfasts have remained unchanged for over a year as they are our best seller with locals and visitors alike, and are usually well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bilbo's Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Bilbo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing