We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family favourite”
Review of Bilbo's Cafe

Bilbo's Cafe
Ranked #48 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This is always the first choice of our grandsons for brunch/lunch whenever we are in Ambleside. The very friendly and accommodating team serve straight forward, good quality food at a fair price in a relaxed, family friendly environment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BBeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    53
    19
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relaxed, good food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visited here twice during our short trip to the lakes. Comfy seating, hearty home made food and value for money...overall a great wee find. Dog friendly, which could be a pro to some but a negative for others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting !”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a good find ! All the other cafes/pubs very pricey in Ambleside. This place serves good sized portions of well cooked honest food. Not the neatest of places but very welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saturnstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This cafe serves good food, portions are generous and wholesome. We tried the soup of the day - delicious, a bit like a Moroccan tagine but soup! Reasonably priced too, we certainly didn't feel "ripped off" like you do at many "touristy twee cafes" There is a small play area for small children too. Very relaxed atmosphere with big comfy sofas, perfect if theres a crowd of you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Off the beaten track”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Querky and slightly off the beaten track. Always good food and good value. Very welcoming atmosphere and dog friendly. Its the place we always go to when we visit Ambleside. Never disappointed. All day breakfast for £6.50, you wont need anything else to eat for the rest of the day.

Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Bilbo's Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Bilbo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing