We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonable value for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambleside Central

Ambleside Central
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambleside Central
Ranked #102 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable value for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and the spot is perfect if you want to meander around Ambleside. Stayed in room 6 and the bed was comfy, the room clean and had no disturbance from other guests or passers-by.

If you are looking for a stay more than a couple of days or after a full hotel service, then it's not the place for you however for relatively low cost, it does offer a comfy clean bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    33
    18
    19
See reviews for
25
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location of this is pretty good. A free car park is available which is a 10 minute walk. We normally park our car here so this wasn't an issue. The shower was good and the room is decorated to a high standard. The bed was comfortable.

There is a coffee machine on both floors although the one on floor 2 swallowed 2 tokens without any coffee. There was a bit of noise from the street

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Check in was two doors down. Parking is half a mile away. The noise from within the hotel is beyond acceptable. There is no one to assist for any queries. Bed is cheap (room 2) and extremely uncomfortable. Bathroom is no bigger than a matchbox! Bedding was not clean.
Some oil on door handles/hinges would help, ensuring other guests keep quiet would also make the stay more pleasant. Some simple improvements would make a huge difference.
Just feels like they are out to take your money without doing any work for it. Feel robbed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Middlesbroguh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Please don't stay here. Check out my other reviews, I post more positive reviews and hardly if ever post negative but feel I must here. I stayed for one evening in the small double. The problems: on arrival we went to the restaurant where I was met by a quite surly Italian girl, no small talk, very abrupt, told to go upstairs (no one will show you to your room). My room was situated in something akin to a maintenance corridor with old pictures etc laying around.
The corridor stank of fish and this did not go all night. Room very small and the bathroom smelt of garlic. Very strange and I wasn't too pleased. As other reviewers have said, for most late after noon and evening, staff take their breaks outside your window so be prepared for loud chatting. With those people being just a pane of glass away it could be intimidating for a lone female traveller. I found it off putting as a bloke. The curtains were also so thin that the next morning you have no choice but to be up when the sun rises. All this for £60. Please check the other b&b's as for this price there is much better value out there. When I returned home I emailed the owner to discuss my concerns before reviewing. I may as well not have bothered as his reply was defensive and dismissive and he even had the arrogance to suggest I was wrong. Please avoid and let's hope these charlatans go out of business soon as they are clearly in the wrong game.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horwich
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break at the ambleside central. We had gone away for the weekend to get away from some building work at home and get out on the fells for a relaxing "de stress".
Unfortunately Ambleside central did not provide this.
The positives are that they are very nicely appointed rooms. Clean tidy and comfortable.
Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and hot drinks machines on each landing for which you are provided tokens. The accommodation does not provide breakfasts but this in itself is not a problem as there are many cafe's in Ambleside that provide a good choice of breakfast at an affordable price. The parking is located a short walk away and is ample and secure.

However all this is spoiled because of the accommodation's location. It is located directly facing the noisiest pub in Ambleside. Just across the road is the Churchill Inn and sports bar.
Obviously popular with the local student population. Very busy and VERY loud.
The bar starts with LOUD music and a very lively clientele at around 7 pm and goes on till the early hours. It was impossible to sleep as the "double glazing" stopped non of the noise.
Perhaps this is only a problem at weekends but as we stayed Friday and Saturday it is of no consolation to us.
In short we have had better nights sleep in hostels.
I did contact the manager to give feed back prior to writing this review and he informed me that they had had no complaints over the noise from previous guests. I find this very hard to believe as everyone in the front facing rooms must have had the same problem as us. Either that or they too were part of the party going on at Churchill's.
It is really unfortunate that this potentially excellent accommodation is spoiled through its location and the proximity of the noisy Bar. I appreciate that the owners of Ambleside central are victims of Churchill's but we will definitely not be returning.

Room Tip: If you must go, insist on a rear facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days. The room was kept warm and was very spacious to move around in. As we came in as a family this was perfect. Also staff are very nice and tidy the room each day. Also they left us extra coins for the drink machine which was really nice of them. The room was well kept and modernised. It was litrally in the central part of the town,so it was really easy and a short walk to go to places. I think that was the best part as it made u feel really part of the town

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nspearmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is place does what it says on the tin. Modern clean and comfortable, the ensuite was clean and had plenty of hot water. The room was a bit on the cosy side but for the price of £60 a night you won't get much better value for money. The free parking is a short walk away at the football club which is fine but time it right so you don't bet back from a day out during a match! The plus side is that you're not tied to the awkward b&b breakfast times. You get tokens for the coffee machine and there are tea and coffee facilities in the room! Also the restaurant downstairs provides a very nice evening meal!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#38 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#5 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Central

Property: Ambleside Central
Address: 10 Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Central 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Central Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside Central Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing