We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Central

Ambleside Central
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ambleside Central
Ranked #104 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Good little hotel, well located. Few niggles: a tenner added on to price when booked through Priceline; we could use our home key to open the Main Street front door (!). Handy but a little worrying. Toilet cistern needed a little persuasion to stop flushing and tokens for coffee machine didn't work, but that aside a likeable stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Howdenglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
24
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Tried phoning a few times to find out where to park. Eventually parked on street after failing to find it and having had my calls ignored. Got to hotel, sign on window said checkin at the bar next door. After a slight mix up with bookings i was given the key and a parking permit. This was behind Ambleside football ground. About 5minutes walk away. The hotel man said he would help unpack my car if needed before I moved the car to their designated parking area. However, checking out you just put keys in a box and the bar was closed so we had to trundle bags and suitcases to the parking. I didn't feel like my car would be safe, but it was. However, had I known about the parking arrangements before booking I wouldn't have chosen this place to stay.
The room was clean, the bed was a very small double. Bathroom modern, very weak shower which kept going hot and cold. Also, there were loud noises from the pipes when you used the water or toilet. Ceiling very thin as we could hear the people upstairs banging around a fair bit.
Okay for one night, but I feel I overpaid as there were other hotels nearby with adjacent parking. Some even included breakfast for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katie2686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

stayed one night on business, after long journey, booked in at restaurant which was busy so we were in the way for food coming out of kitchen, after wait for them to find keys room was on top floor no lift, got to room to find it was just as last guest had left it, so back down stairs to restaurant to get sorted, left standing in busy restaurant while they found a member of housekeep to come and clean room, after finding somewhere for us to eat (plenty of really good places to eat in Ambleside) we returned to find room clean and tidy, but on 2nd floor the fire exit door was open and because the door was broken it was left open all night,we did not feel safe, health and safety is an issue here.

Room Tip: find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for one night and the spot is perfect if you want to meander around Ambleside. Stayed in room 6 and the bed was comfy, the room clean and had no disturbance from other guests or passers-by.

If you are looking for a stay more than a couple of days or after a full hotel service, then it's not the place for you however for relatively low cost, it does offer a comfy clean bed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
471 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location of this is pretty good. A free car park is available which is a 10 minute walk. We normally park our car here so this wasn't an issue. The shower was good and the room is decorated to a high standard. The bed was comfortable.

There is a coffee machine on both floors although the one on floor 2 swallowed 2 tokens without any coffee. There was a bit of noise from the street

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Check in was two doors down. Parking is half a mile away. The noise from within the hotel is beyond acceptable. There is no one to assist for any queries. Bed is cheap (room 2) and extremely uncomfortable. Bathroom is no bigger than a matchbox! Bedding was not clean.
Some oil on door handles/hinges would help, ensuring other guests keep quiet would also make the stay more pleasant. Some simple improvements would make a huge difference.
Just feels like they are out to take your money without doing any work for it. Feel robbed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbroguh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Please don't stay here. Check out my other reviews, I post more positive reviews and hardly if ever post negative but feel I must here. I stayed for one evening in the small double. The problems: on arrival we went to the restaurant where I was met by a quite surly Italian girl, no small talk, very abrupt, told to go upstairs (no one will show you to your room). My room was situated in something akin to a maintenance corridor with old pictures etc laying around.
The corridor stank of fish and this did not go all night. Room very small and the bathroom smelt of garlic. Very strange and I wasn't too pleased. As other reviewers have said, for most late after noon and evening, staff take their breaks outside your window so be prepared for loud chatting. With those people being just a pane of glass away it could be intimidating for a lone female traveller. I found it off putting as a bloke. The curtains were also so thin that the next morning you have no choice but to be up when the sun rises. All this for £60. Please check the other b&b's as for this price there is much better value out there. When I returned home I emailed the owner to discuss my concerns before reviewing. I may as well not have bothered as his reply was defensive and dismissive and he even had the arrogance to suggest I was wrong. Please avoid and let's hope these charlatans go out of business soon as they are clearly in the wrong game.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#16 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#37 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#44 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanslea Guesthouse
Wanslea Guesthouse
#19 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Central

Property: Ambleside Central
Address: 10 Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Central 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambleside Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Central Hotel Ambleside
Ambleside Central Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing