We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Drunken Duck Inn
Ranked #23 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is one of my favourite hotels in the Uk. Myself and my wife treat ourselves here at least once a year.
The hotel is cosy and friendly. The bar is relaxed with great home made brews. The best however is the Restaurant and we always have a great meal here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fran18c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    212
    91
    57
    48
See reviews for
108
608
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We treat ourselves only on special occasions for a meal at the drunken duck.
The food always blows me away, The bar and restaurant are very nicly decorated
The food is not the cheapest but hey you get what you pay for!
The view outside is amazing by far one of the best views around for me
We will be making our annual visit again soon

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
359 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We discovered this place by accident, while walking around and were pleasantly surprised. We had lunch once and then came back for dinner. Lovely place and great food. Hope next time we can stay overnight !
Loved the puddings

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patriciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We've eaten here a couple of times now and have been very impressed by the standard of food. Eating at the Drunken Duck is a highlight of our trips to the Lake District. The service tends to be slow given that the place isn't that big, 10 mins for a drink order,another 15 for food order, 30 mins between having our starters cleared and our main course arrive. That said, the servers were very friendly, and we take our time when eating here and have a couple of drinks after dinner. If you are in a hurry then probably best to get some pub grub in Ambleside, otherwise take your time and enjoy. I definitely recommend eating here,the food is fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

A trip to the Lakes is never complete without a visit to The Drunken Duck! We spent a lovely evening here just a few days before Christmas, and as usual the food was first class. I had scallops and then the steak, which just melted in the mouth, one of our party said he had waited all his life to taste a steak like that! I cant wait to go back, it really is amazing.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jayduvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Stayed here for a weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our superior room was cosy with every convenience and a high spec bathroom complete with an led-lit roll-top bath. Evening meal was first rate and started with an amuse bouche of mushroom soup which was epic. Scallop starter was equally good whilw venison haunch main was cooked to perfection. On-site microbrewery offered about five decent real ales - catnap was my favourite. Nothing here was particularly cheap but everything was done well. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We only ate at the restaurant but the food was lovely and the service was excellent. its not cheap but there are cheaper options (my pasta main was only 12.95) and all of the food was well worth it. the atmosphere is lovely, its warm and cosy with a big open fire but still smart so it feels much more like a restaurant than a pub. we will definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#11 of 103 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Queen's Head Hotel
Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drunken Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Duck Inn

Property: The Drunken Duck Inn
Address: Barngates | Off B5286, Ambleside LA22 0NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Drunken Duck Hotel Ambleside
Drunken Duck Inn
Drunken Duck Hotel
Ambleside Drunken Duck
Drunken Duck Ambleside
The Drunken Duck Inn Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing