We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Really enjoyed the stay. Great food and fantastic service. Happy staff = great atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear Alisums,

Thank you for taking the time to write your short but sweet review. I completely agree and i am glad that came across during your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    279
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
225
1,111
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
flintshire
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

brilliant hotel,after booking hotel, spoke to reservations to get some advice,spoke to a lovely lady called denise who was very helpful,thankyou denise for your kindness ..we loved room 10.service excellant throughout,room & hotel are very clean & stylish,great restaurant too..looking forward to coming back to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4flipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear 4 flip flops,

Many thanks for the great review. The heading "best in the lakes" is certainly something that we aspire to be and i am glad that is what our customers feel. I will pass on your comments to Denise as well as the team. We look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I've just spent two nights at Waterhead Hotel, an enjoyable experience.
Our lake view room was of a good size very clean and comfortable. There was every ammenity in the room including iced water and gound coffee. Linen was very good quality and the bed very comfortable.
The decor and furnishings throughout the hotel were stylish and had obviously been well planned.
Service was excellent and the staff created a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere which enhanced our enjoyment.
The food was good with plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner.
The only down side was the car park at the front of the hotel. It was on a busy main road
and you had to reverse either in or out into the traffic.
A lovely place to stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Belljack,

Many thanks for the great review. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Keep a look out for our upcoming spring and summer offers. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

This was our second stay at the Waterhead - our last being 3 years ago.

As at our previous visit, the room was excellently presented, the dinner was superb, and breakfast was very hearty - setting us up for the day.

We arrived prior to our earliest check in time, but the hotel had no problem with us leaving our car there whilst we explored Ambleside - and when we returned our room was all ready for us.

If I have one small observation to make, and this is in no way a criticism of the staff, but it was very noticable that the majority of the team are from Europe, and I find it hard to believe that the hotel cannot find more local staff who meet their employment criteria. This was noticeable not only in the hotel mind, but across the region.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt0475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Dear jt0475,

Many thanks for taking the time to post another great review. Its even more pleasing to know we are still delivering the goods as well as we did on your last visit and we will do our very best to continue to do so with a view to always listening to our customers and adapt and enhance our product as peoples expectations vary. Regarding your comment on staffing, having worked in the hospitality industry for the last 15 years i came to work in the lakes in late 2009. It's always a challenge to entice people to form a career in our business but with government support and working with local colleges we as a company will always look to advertise all of our positions locally through newspapers, the job centre and online. It seems to be even harder in the lakes however i am fortunate to work with the great team we have here at Waterhead.

Best regards

MarK Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The building looks like a traditional Lakes slate building but belies what's inside.....excellent decor, superb staff and fantastic food.

If you like Masterchef - this is the place for you.

Never mind those massive hotels chains (I've stayed in them) food-wise this beats the lot.

Some great value deals, as well

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetteSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear JanetteSouthshields,

Thanks for taking the time to post your recent review. It was great to read the title of your review. Our chef was very pleased. He is constantly looking at ways of utilising all the fantastic local ingredients in the development of his menus. I do hope to welcome you back soon to try our upcoming spring menu. (It sounds great!).

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Stayed for 2 days in March as a belated birthday treat.
The Hotel is situated less than a mile from Ambleside, so is a pleasant stroll into town. It is right by the lake so again perfectly situated for strolls by the lake. There are a number of walks easily accesible from the hotel without having to take the car out of the (free) car park. We climbed Wansfell Pike, which was strenuous but worth it for the fabulous views from the top of Windermere to the South and Grasmere to the North.
We stayed in a Lake view room which was very pleasant. The bed was comfortable although it would be better with feather pillows.
The bathroom was lovely and clean and the shower great after a long walk.
Our package included dinner, which was a 3 course affair. Menu choice was good, as were the meals. The choice of wines is good and very reasonably priced. The Brown Brothers Chenin Blanc is a steal at £16.50!
Nice touches include chocolates on the pillow at night, fluffy towels and bathrobes, slippers, an MPV player in the room (although ours didn't work too well with our i-pod - very crackly sound).
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidcbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear intrepidcbp,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. I hope you enjoyed your birthday break with us and took away some nice memories. Thank you for the feedback, i will look into the ipod dock sound problem. If you do return be sure to ask for feather pillows as we have an assortment available.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We spent 3 nights last weekend at The Waterhead. It was our first visit and we booked it on the strength of the reviews on this site so we had high expectations.

I am happy to say that the hotel lived up to those expectations. We had a luxury lake view room and thought it was well worth the extra money to be able to look out over Windermere. The room was a good size and was well equipped – the bed was the comfiest I think I have ever slept in! There was plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and a flat screen TV (not that many channels but we hadn’t gone to sit and watch TV so it didn’t matter) We liked the fact that in addition to the normal kettle plus sachets of instant coffee etc there was ground coffee and a cafetiere plus lovely Grasmere gingerbread.

We thought that the hotel was immaculately clean throughout. The staff were all very friendly, polite and efficient. The service in the restaurant was discreet but attentive. The food was excellent and we felt that the dinner, bed & breakfast rate was good value. It was good to have freshly cooked hot breakfast rather than the more common buffet arrangement of bacon, sausages etc and we appreciated the fact that there were alternatives to the usual cooked breakfast eg eggs Benedict, smoked haddock with poached egg etc. The three course dinner was excellent every night and there was quite a wide choice. All of the food was beautifully presented. My husband is still telling me how good the sea bass was and I should say too that my fillet steak (had to pay £9 extra) was divine.

I noticed that somebody has commented about the lack of a lift and I have to agree that people with mobility difficulties could find the stairs a problem. I did notice a “disabled” parking space in the car park and a room which was directly accessible from the car park though.

The location of the hotel was perfect: an easy walk into Ambleside, a pub just across the road for a change of scene, easy access to bus routes and of course Lake Windermere. If you show your room card when booking the river cruise trips you will get a 10% discount. We didn't use the leisure club facilities at the Low Wood as we were blessed with dry weather so stayed outdoors! All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Almatt,

Many thanks for writing your detailed review of your recent break with us. It's encouraging we lived upto expectations and our great TA reviews. I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and you can be sure i will pass your feedback onto the team. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing