We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Weekend at the Waterhead”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another Great Weekend at the Waterhead”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was our second visit in 12 months to the Waterhead and both visits turned into really pleasurable weekends. The hotel is right on the edge of the lake, the views from the room fantastic. This time we had a room close by reception and the main road, so thought we might be troubled by noise, but not at all. The room was very quiet and comfortable, as-is the hotel generally. The hotel staff are exceptional and add to the experience. The restaurant is very good and the wine list features some old favourites like "Cloudy Bay".

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloan_Chace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Sloan_chace,

Thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. Its great to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us, keep a look out for up coming summer offers. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    276
    52
    4
    11
See reviews for
224
1,095
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is an exceptional hotel, ideally located at the edge of Lake Windermere. Having booked through the excellent 'Secret Escapes' website, we stayed in a luxury double room with a great view of the lake. Our room was very spacious and was decorated and furnished in a modern style to a high standard. The high quality of decor, furnishing and cleanliness was maintained throughout the hotel. The members of staff in the hotel were all friendly, efficient, well trained and extremely polite. The hotel encourages its staff to provide guests with an exceptional experience and this was evident in every aspect. We were sorry to leave at the end of our stay, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_B_819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Rob_B_819,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and that our objective of ensuring all guests have a memorable stay came across. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife and I stayed over the weekend of 4/5 June over our 25th Anniversary. The hotel was wonderful, from the moment we arrived we felt comfortable and welcome. The room had a double balcony looking straight over the lake and we had a really lovely stay. The weather was glorious and we were able to sit out in the hotel gardens overlooking the lake. Restaurant was top notch, breakfast was superb.
In summary: Location - Excellent, Food - Excellent, Room - Excellent
Finally a word on the staff, they were attentive without being pushy and were probably the best hotel staff we have encountered in a UK Hotel.
If you are looking for a comfortable and welcoming hotel in the area then book here - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samandgary3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear samandgary3,

Many thanks for the great review and for choosing the Waterhead to celebrate such a special anniversary. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and your comment about the team means a lot and you can be sure i will pass this onto them. I am lucky to work with and manage a great team and comments like yours are what this industry is all about to me. Thank you and i look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I've stayed here now several times, and from the house room to the top suit, each room is a stylish, contemporary, yet cosy - the perfect hotel for a romantic weekend. There are lots of little touches to make your stay special - and it always feels as if they're doing it 'just for you'. The downside is check-out - it's always disappointing - simply because I never want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millicent95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed two nights in Room 17. Gorgeous room with view of lake; huge room, high ceilings, very modern large bathroom, two TVs. Enjoyed our stay immensely. Food outstanding. Great location for exploring area. Pool/hot tub available down the road at another hotel; worth a visit, enjoyed our swim there.

Room Tip: Take a look at a few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvgoodtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Booked a DBB package for our Anniversary which included a cruise. On arrival we were slightly early but the receptionist was extremely helpful and managed to check us in. The receptionist advised us of everything that was on offer including the DVD's that were available, timings of breakfast and dinner and offered assistance with our luggage. She was even aware of my husbands special request for dinner which was a nice touch.

We had booked the luxury room which was exactly as it was described, beautiful room overlooking the lake, lots of little extras and nice touches, big comfy bed and spacious bathroom with toiletries....

Breakfast and dinner was just excellent and the staff were very attentive.

If I was to have one critisicim, we visited the Low Wood to use the leisure facilities but we went when it was a kiddy class and was very busy plus the areas looked quite tired and not the same standard that we had loved at the Waterhead.

Overall, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, cruise was good too and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHAW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

After a wonderful weekend at the Waterhead for my husbands 40th last year, we decided to book again this year for his birthday. Again, the Waterhead did not disappoint.
The staff are friendly, the hotel is so clean and welcoming, and the food is excellent.
The staff in the reception and restaurants cannot do enough to help you... the rooms are lovely, the gingerbread is a nice local touch and it is delicious!!
We cannot fault this hotel, we have stayed in many 5* hotels and we do like to try different locations and hotels, but Waterside is one of our favourites in the UK and I can definately see us returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graystock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterheadmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Graystock,

Many thanks for the great review and for choosing the Waterhead again to celebrate your husbands birthday. I look forward to welcome you both back again in the near future for your third visit.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing