We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel & location”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is our second visit to The Waterhead. We greatly enjoyed our previous visit & although I did search around online for a different hotel, just to have a change - we agreed that The Waterhead still looked the best option & we were very pleased with our return. The rooms are a very good quality & nicely equipped. The staff appear well-trained & always friendly. I agree that the parking is a potential issue - the hotel state that they will refund you if you have to park in the public car park next door, but that may not be obvious on arrival. As it was very warm during our stay, we had the windows open at night & did have some noise from the road. We find the breakfast very good, with a nice selection of cooked options and efficient service. It is approximately a 15 minute walk to Ambleside & you can get the Windermere boats just across the road. We will definitely be returning again!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreenGloves09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear Greengloves09,

Thank you for choosing the Waterhead again and for posting a review of your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read you again enjoyed your stay with us. I agree our parking is not ideal but is certainly more adequate than many other hotels in the area, we are constantly looking at ways we can improve this. I look forward to welcome you back soon for your third visit.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    281
    52
    4
    10
See reviews for
226
1,119
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The positives:
1. Very close to really nice walks and Lake Windermere.
2. A comfortable and quiet room.
3. The staff were friendly and courteous.
4. The welcome pack for our son.

The negatives:
1. Parking is very limited and not convenient if one has a lot of luggage.
2. The breakfast was below par for this type of hotel - the buffett was limited in its choice, the coffee was weak, and we have had much better cooked breakfasts at less expensive hotels.
3. Wifi is only available in hotel lobby area.

Overall, this was an ok hotel, but a bit overpriced and overhyped.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QUBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear QUBProf,

Many thanks for the review, i was disappointed to read you felt the hotel was overpriced and overhyped as i am sure you can see from our reviews on trip advisor alone we generally receive excellent feedback. I can only apologise for the negatives you have highlighted and that you felt the breakfast was not upto standard. You can be sure i will look into these areas so we can continue to improve our overall product and meet the expectations of all of our customers.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Was the wifeys birthday, so thought and planned something for weeks on end... Dubai, Egypt, Turkey or Pakistan.... to expensive, to risky, to far and maybe to unfriendly..
We then come accross the option of lake district, which wasnt to far from home, but was something different, and because we had two little ones (1 year old and 2 year old) we thought this was the perfect option. Was unsure what the people would be like, because we encountered some raciall abuse last time we went to blackpool for a day, but ive never met so many friendly people in a long time. There wasnt much option for asian food, as the two place we read up on in tripadvisor where rated poorly, but we ended up eating in the hotel.. Surprised was my one word answer... The food was excellent, and my wife has always had the traditional indian curry, but her first time eating in a british resturant and she was amazed.. We had to eat the Vegie option, because being muslims, the food wasnt halal, so we ordered soup and this other dish, not sure what it was called, but it was nice.. Bit expensive but worth it...
The room was comfy, bathroom superb, and the staff where brilliant.
We was only bit disappointed about the view from our room, which was blocked and you couldnt see nothing, and there was a spider in our room, and when my wife rang night porter, his answer was what can i do about a spider, so we had to capture it in a cup and let it free outside... Also we read on website, that kids where free and could get a maximum of two cots in the room, but we were advised that we had to pay extra for this by the hotel when we rang up. But it was worth it, and i would pay it again.. The kids loved it, the wife loved it.. And the thing that did it for me most is that when we arrived they had a birthday card on the bed ready for my wife....They have a dvd player, ipod dock, flatscreen tv in the room, and they have a good collection of dvds to watch for free.
The hotel didnt have onsite gym etc.. but there sister hotel which is 1 minute drive away had alot of great facilitys, hot tub, sauna, pool, squash room, gym, jacuzzi etc...
Would i go again......
See you next month!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashfaq92a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear ashfaq92a,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay and for choosing the Waterhead to celebrate your wifes birthday. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed dining in our restaurant. My apologies for the spider incident, my night porter may have a slight phobia but i will work on this with him. I do hope to welcome you and your family back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Just returned from a one night stay at the Waterhead. Can't praise it enough. The staff were so helpful and pleasant, the rooms are faultless and the location - just across the road from the lake - is fantastic. My partner and I had to be away by 07.45 and breakfast didn't start until 08.00. That didn't stop the staff from opening up the kitchen 45 minutes early just so the two of us could have breakfast. That kind of service is very rare!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear monty2556,

Thanks for the great review, we will always go out of our way to ensure guests enjoy every aspect of there stay and i am glad you got to enjoy breakfast with us. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Just returned from Waterhead Hotel with my husband. The hotel was fantastic! really faultless spacious room, the comfiest bed ever! and lovely contemporary bathroom with a swirly raidiator, bowel sink and funky showerhead. Lovely touches in the room such as fresh coffee to make in a cafatiere, local gingerbread , fresh fruit & ice and bottled water available FOC should you ask for it. Staff were very attentive and courtious. Breakfast was lovely and so much choice! The location of the hotel is superb. The bar & restaurant are looking the lake just lovely! and the lawn at the side of the bar is a perfect location for a drink with a view! Boat trips right outside the hotel, pub with lake views just to the right and fish & chip shop (Which I highly reccomend they were lovely). A gem of a place can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Standard room more than sufficient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear cindy1870,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Waterhead. Its pleasing to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and i hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future. (p.s Our fish and chips is amazing, be sure to try them next time.).

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Have just visited for the first time and the hotel was faultless. Rooms were modern, clean and some of the smaller touches were really nice like the gingerbread and fresh fruit. Location is superb. Didn't eat in resturant however we did eat over the road in the watersedge inn which was very good. Overall a fantastic place to say and we will def be back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellabella25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Ellabella25,

Many thanks for the great review and your feedback from your recent stay. Be sure to try our restaurant on your next visit I am sure you wont be disappointed. I look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I would definitely stay at this hotel again if visiting the Ambleside area. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of the village. The rooms were very spacious and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. Generally a great place to relax after a hard days walking! Also I should comment that service was excellent, from the warm welcome at reception to the helpful staff in the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Tomd25,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing