We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our stay at Waterhead was great, immaculate room with everything that you could possibly want. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was really good too.

All this together with the beautiful surroundings made the perfect break away from "normal life" We will definitley be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear Andy46_11,

Thanks for the great review, its pleasing to now it was an enjoyable break from normal life and i hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    271
    52
    4
    9
See reviews for
218
1,063
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Our family party included grandmother, mother and son, we were all very well looked after.
DVDs for all ages are provided, especially useful for children's entertainment during an afternoon siesta for older members !
The quality of food is excellent, in particular, the childrens menu, where other hotels can often fail down this area.
A big thank you to the restaurant staff, who on a busy night, were only too willing to provide a room service supper of cereal to our 8 year old son, who's normal eating routine required supper too!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieribbons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear rosieribbons1,

Many thanks for the great review, it is pleasing to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope we can welcome you all back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights, 22nd and 23rd July 2011. we had a family room and it had loads of space with the cot and 2 beds. Rooms were very clean and staff very helpful.

the one fault that i did have is that its not very kids friendly, what i mean is that its very difficult to enter the hotel with prams as they were no stairs, so we kept the prams in the cars overnight and carried the kids up the stairs from the car park.

overall i would recommend this hotel and would use it again if my wife and i went away without the kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear dmcewan,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in the hotel. I can only apologise and agree with your comment. Due to the nature and age of the building it is very difficult to get about the hotel with prams etc. You can be sure i will look into how we can make it easier for our guests with young children and can assure you there is always a team member to help in these instances. I hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Bets regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in July 2011.
We had paid for a luxury room with a lake view. We were very pleased with the layout of the room and the quality of the furnishings.
The bed was a super King size with good quality pillows and bed linen.
The bathroom was an adequate size and had good sized bath with a shower over. The shower was a "waterfall" type and gave a good back massage.
The service was great, staff being friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels being provided. We thought the evening room check was a good idea...whilst having our ebening meal the rooms was checked, freshened up, curtains closed and bed linen turned back. A nice touch. Oh and chocolates left on the pillows!
Bar was well stocked including a local ale, good cocktails too.
Free DVD library just in case the weather is wet....not a bad idea given the weather in the lakes.
The food was top notch, a varied menu with good size portions. All the meals were very well presented with a very efficient service. Recommend the full English breakfast.
We made use of the leisure facilities at a sister hotel just 5 mins away. Good pool with an outside hut tub. These facilties were complimantary, just geeting to the stage were a refurb is needed but otherwise good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear NFJ999,

Many thanks for the great review. You can be sure i will pass your comments onto the team and hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I've stayed in Ambleside before at another near by hotel but as they seems have developed an inability to reply to emails, we chose this hotel instead - and glad we have!

The hotel is very close to the Windermere Lake on the Ambleside. You can actually see the ferry point from the hotel and a pub is also just across the road. Ambleside itself is a tourist village but far less populated than Windermere/Bowness and will give you a better sedate atmosphere.

Pros:
- Very well decorated modern room. I can see a lot of thought has gone into decoration as they are trendy yet doesn't crush with the lakeside theme.
- Good size room with comfortable beds. The sound proofing are not perfect but much better then most of other British hotels
- Good selection of hot drinks in the room including a coffee cafetiere, several teas and gingerbread!
- Bath tab is spacious and clean. Certainly not the usual cheap square type you get in most hotels!
- Good courteous service with turning down service (ok, personally I don't like the turning down but it shows the hotel's willingness to please their customers)
- Location as mentioned above
- Breakfast is good and filling. Modern take on full english (i.e. not greasy) supplimented by self service continental breakfast on top. We honestly couldn't master lunch after eating breakfast.
- Excellent view of the lake from the dining/breakfast room

Cons:
- Our room opened up to a large car park next to the hotel. The car park is almost always empty in the evening/morning so it wasn't a problem but still, its not the view we would have associated with the lake district......
- Whilst it was near to the lake, it is 15 min walk from Ambleside village. If you wanted to eat out in village, it was a little far to walk (especially if it was raining) and little short for taxi. You'll always struggle to get a parking space in Ambleside so driving isn't a good option either.
- The hotel's dining room waiter wasn't the most friendly. On the first night he proudly told us they were fully booked and we should have booked ahead if we wanted a table - no attempt to help us what so ever. On the second night we booked and the same guy tried to turn us away till I pointed out we did book on this occasion - again, no apologies. He was in contrast to rest of the hotel staff.
- Hotel's free car park was often overfilled and if you came back late in the evening, you would struggle to find a space.

Overall I thought the hotel was very pleasant and only few small niggles. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a lakeside stay but not the hustle & bustle of the Bowness.

p.s. the room did not have any air con or fridge. We didn't have a need for them but the weather was a little cool for the time of the year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RisingZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Dear RisingZen,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. I can only apologise that we did not manage to accommodate you in the restaurant on your first evening and in the way you were greeted on the second night. As you can see from our reviews this is certainly not the standard our customers expect to receive. If you are in the area in the future please do not hesitate to contact me so we can ensure you enjoy one of our lake view rooms on your next visit.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We booked two rooms on an English Lakes Hotels group promotion for a one night DB&B stay. In spite of the excellent rate paid we were given two very well appointed rooms, one even with a lake view albeit from the bathroom. The beds were dreamily comfortable and the bathrooms luxurious and all four of us had a good nights sleep. Everything about Waterhead exuded quality and efficiency including the dining experience for dinner and breakfast and the delightful garden seating area outside the bar with incomparable views out over lake windermere and beyond. The only negative points were hard to find but my friends room had no shaving mirror (I dont use one) and Eggs Benedict for breakfast turned out to be Egg Benedict singular.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear ukstayer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you all enjoyed the rooms and enjoyed a great night sleep which is a major part of any hotel stay. I can only apologise for the Egg benedict incident as it is always usually served with 2 poached eggs. I will be sure the chef gives you 3 eggs on your next visit.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Good
Service- my first room (#34) was too loud for me, and too hot inside the room, even with all the windows open, so the staff was very helpful in getting me a new room on the top floor, #54 was much quieter. I was willing to forego a lake view for more peace.
The beds are incredibly comfortable. Some of the best.
Electric fireplace in rooms
iPod dock and radio
Tea service
Ice already in the ice bucket in the room
Amenities
Housekeeping
Lake views
Full English breakfast included. Excellent service. They remembered me day to day, even my room number. Accommodating to food allergies.

The Not-as-good:
Too hot/warm inside hotel
Wired internet in the room, no wifi
Noise in room 34 - deliveries at 7am and beeping signal at the crosswalk outside
Painting exterior trim at the moment, heavy equipment around outside, but they may be finished with that by now
Cost of restaurant was very high
Cost of the room was very high


It may help to know:

No air conditioning - but with cool lake breeze some may not need it. I asked for a fan and that helped a lot.

The hotel is located outside of Ambleside proper, which can be good, but it depends on what you want. The bus only costs 1GBP, they are frequent and you can choose from many different buses into town. It’s a short ride, and stops right outside the hotel in both directions. Or you can walk it if you like, but bring a waterproof jacket or umbrella.

The Bottom Line: This was a beautiful place with great service, but it was too expensive and next time I want to stay right in Ambleside or Keswick.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinniSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmanager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear TripAdvisee_11,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry you felt that overall we were not value for money. As i am sure you can appreciate all people have different expectations and requirements and we do our very best to meet all of these at every opportunity. Our prices are competitive with the local competition inline with the products and service that we offer.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Waterhead in the near future.

Best regards

Mark Needham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.1 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Green Hotel in Ambleside
#1 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterhead Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star town house hotel on the shores of Lake Windermere near Ambleside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambleside Hotel Waterhead
Hotel Waterhead
Waterhead Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing